Posted by: medicblog999 | October 18, 2009

Field Testing some new Boots!

magnum_06_main_logoI was recently contacted by Magnum, who were looking for some field testers for a brand new, top of the range boot that they are producing.

What they proposed was that they send me a pair of their brand new top of the line Magnum Elite Force 8.0 WPI boots in exchange for me wearing them for a short while and then writing a review on my blog which will then be linked from their own website for their field testers.

I actually get quite alot of offers from companies offering freebies for publicity on the blog, and I have turned all of them down except for the ECG Simulator and this one. I have made the decision that the only things that I will look at or write about are products that I can see have a direct interest to a significant proportion of my readers.

But first the important disclaimer:

The following is the view of a single operational paramedic. It does not in any way, shape or form, show the view point of the North East Ambulance Service and should not be viewed as such. These are my opinions based on my experience of wearing the boots. I cannot compare with any other brands because I have never worn any other boots other than those supplied to me through my work, which just so happen to be Magnum boots also (although not this new model)

Right, now thats over, lets have a look at them:

compressedIMGP1347The first thing to notice when I opened them were that they were the tall ‘military style’ boots. I usually only wear the ankle high boots produced by Magnum (the Patrol), so I was a bit dubious about how comfortable they would be. On getting them out of the box, I immediately noticed how light they were, and when I put them on, I was honestly surprised at how comfortable they felt. The grip on the sole is huge and looks like it will be great to wear when it gets muddy and snowy underfoot.

Now lets get down to the real nitty gritty. They look great, you cant really see from the photo that well, but they are made from various different sections across the upper so that you dont get the usual pinch points across the top of your foot and the front of your ankle when walking. They feel very sturdy and very supportive, and they certainly got approving looks and comments from my colleagues on station.

The unique selling point of this boot though, is the new ‘ion guard’ technology, for which they have just won a prestigious national award for. Without getting technical, this is  a protective film which covers the boot and laces which makes it fluid repellant, not just waterproof. What they claim is that if you are on scene and you get bodily fluids dripping on your boots (theres a pleasant image for you!), it will just bead up on the surface and just run off, thereby removing all contaminents from the boot. It also helps keep the boot clean and free from dirt. It also makes them chemical resistant too.

So lets put that to the test then! Unfortunately I didnt have any blood lying around so I had to go with water:

[pro-player width=’530′ height=’253′ type=’video’ image=’http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HdrTiMHBaM’%5Dhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HdrTiMHBaM%5B/pro-player%5D

So, do I get a job on a shopping channel then?…….No, I didnt think so either.

Overall, this boot is one of the best I have seen, and worn,  so far. It is lightweight, looks cool, is cool – i.e. it doesnt make your foot feel like its in a heater, and the Ion Guard feature really does seem to work, and I can easily see how this will prolong the life of the boot and make them keep thier new look for longer.

Further information on these boots and the ion mask technology can soon be found at their new website.

Unfortunately though, I wont be able to wear them for work. The only reason being that it has no reinforced toe cap, which is what our health and saftey people  state is a requirement for our footwear. If it wasnt for that these would be my fab new pair of boots.

So, Dear Mr Magnum, if you fancy sending a pair of these boots over (or similar) with a reinforced toe cap (please!), then I will be more than happy to parade them for you!!

If you are in the market place for a new pair of boots for work, then go and give them a look!


Responses

  1. Good deal. I will be field testing them too once I receive mine. We will see how they hold up!

  2. I`ll be interested to see what you think!I love this ion-mask stuff. I wish we could get it to spray over all the internal surfaces in our ambulance!!

  3. No steel toe on a field boot? Maybe this is geared more towards law enforcement rather than Fire and EMS. We have 2 options for boots, one a slip on Australian style and the other a more traditional leather zippered boot that has features similar to your tester. I prefer teh latter, you'll see.Glad you are getting attention to get you voice heard in the industry. I too will be field testing a used bic pen and reviewing it soon. </jealous>

  4. Ooohhhh, Bic Pens!! You lucky thing!!To be honest, Im sure I was just a name out of a hat. Its always nice to get something new to try though.I sent you the email too though, did you not follow it up?

  5. Try testing the Ion Guard with tomato soup.I have a pair of Magnum Stealth Force 8.0 (I think) and it's a brilliant boot. Incredibly lightweight, kept my feet pretty cool (though be wary of water running down waterproof trousers onto the top of the boot for an hour…get's a bit damper than I'd like but not horribly so) and they are comfier than my trainers. Didn't need much breaking in at all either. Never had problems slipping on mud or anything because the tread is wonderful.I did try the ones with the composite toe (same strength as steel, but much more lightweight and you don't have the problem of it being freezing cold in Winter, or like a small oven in Summer…apparently) but I felt they cut across the top of my toes. Wrong size perhaps – silly lack of shops to go and try them on!)Also, Mr Magnum people – I will also field test new pairs of boots. I'm sure M999 could give you my email address. Don't ask you don't get 😀

  6. Try testing the Ion Guard with tomato soup.I have a pair of Magnum Stealth Force 8.0 (I think) and it's a brilliant boot. Incredibly lightweight, kept my feet pretty cool (though be wary of water running down waterproof trousers onto the top of the boot for an hour…get's a bit damper than I'd like but not horribly so) and they are comfier than my trainers. Didn't need much breaking in at all either. Never had problems slipping on mud or anything because the tread is wonderful.I did try the ones with the composite toe (same strength as steel, but much more lightweight and you don't have the problem of it being freezing cold in Winter, or like a small oven in Summer…apparently) but I felt they cut across the top of my toes. Wrong size perhaps – silly lack of shops to go and try them on!)Also, Mr Magnum people – I will also field test new pairs of boots. I'm sure M999 could give you my email address. Don't ask you don't get 😀

  7. […] to hell, feet A while back ago, like Medic999, I was approached by Magnum Boot company about becoming a field tester for a new pair of boots. […]

  8. […] out for The Fire Critic’s full review in two weeks. For now, check out a video of Medic999, who also reviewed the Magnum boots, testing out the ion mask waterproofing […]

  9. […] So it was with a measure of pleasant surprise that I viewed a recent offer by Magnum boots to review their newest offering, the Elite Force 8.0 WPI. My first instinct was to turn them down, but then I figured, “Hey, they’re asking for a review, not an endorsement. I’m free to write whatever I choose,” so I had them send me a pair. You can read reviews by other bloggers on these boots here, here, here, and here. […]


Leave a comment

Categories