Posted by: medicblog999 | October 26, 2010

This is why I blog!

Sometimes, I get an email in the middle of the night which reminds me when I am at my most tired and exhausted, exactly why it is that I choose to spend a little extra time to blog and share my world with everyone else on the internet. This one came in last week and is reproduced with the kind permission of the sender

“Mr Glencorse (I feel rude calling you Mark since we don’t know each other!!),

Just wanted to drop you a quick email to thank you for taking the time to keep your blog running.

I’ve only just ventured into the EMS blogosphere over the last year or so and have tonight finished reading your archives from the very start, and have very much enjoyed your journey (save the slight mishap this year where  thought you had really finished, which made me very sad L).

For the last 18 months I have been working my way through the recruitment process for a position as a student paramedic after graduating and deciding that Fine Art is neither my forte nor my passion! I never knew what I wanted to do with my life and subsequently coasted through school and university with no real direction (I’m ashamed to say) – I made some rash decisions and had some pretty poor career advice and ended up heading in a direction that was not at all that I wanted and made me really unhappy. I’m not quite sure how I decided to apply to the ambulance service and can’t remember whether it was before or after I started reading blogs but they have definitely had a huge bearing on making the decision to put everything into my application!

Along with the support of my real life friends (or “fleshy friends” as I like to call them, hehe) who have taken me out on their ambulances, let me play with their toys and endlessly practiced grilling interviewing me, I have benefitted from those of you who are kind enough to share your calls, and more importantly your thoughts and feelings about those calls, so generously.

I had found it difficult to bring up some of the problems I have observed with pre-hospital care with the fleshy friends, being an outsider and not wanting to upset them or offend their loyalties to their services (or look stupid)! The blogosphere has fitted a nice little niche and provided a balanced outlook and discussion of many of these issues which has definitely helped me to understand the developing role of the Paramedic. Ultimately reading my little list of pre-hospital care blogs has played a big part in my career decisions, and the insight of such a variety of people that I have been able to share has certainly cemented my goals. I can’t forget to mention that I have also learnt a great deal about pre-hospital care itself from reading, although I’d be lying if I said I understood your ECG posts – that’s something I’ve still tog et my head round!

I recently passed the recruitment process for a UK Ambulance Service and was offered an immediate training date (which I was very proud of as it was competitive and I secretly thought I was an average applicant, I don’t mean to sound arrogant!) but turned down this course as I have also now passed all the stages of recruitment for another service (which is my local Ambulance service, and my employer of choice) and my application has been progressed to the pre-employment checking stage. I’ll have to see how that goes but even if this application doesn’t turn out as hoped I’ll not give up!

So my quick thank you sort of turned into a much longer thank you but I just wanted to tell you that even though you’ve achieved massive, global success with CoEMS and now Ambulance Matters and you clearly make a positive impact on all of your patients and their families, as well as your own family, that you have also inspired and motivated a disheartened girl (that you’ve never even met!) to get off her bottom and do something that matters if she works hard and will make her proud!! Thanks!! “

To the author of this email (you know who you are!), thank you so very much for taking the time to reach out and contact me. You made my night/day/week!

Responses

  1. Mr Glencorse (I feel I should continue the formal tone) you should know that you are making me reconsider my direction as a student paramedic. I have decided to look into becoming more research focused and evidence based. You seem to be one step ahead of anything I think of but give me the drive to continue. Four years ago it was Reynolds who led me to apply when I was made redundant, you keep me striving to grow as an EMS provider in the UK.


Leave a Reply

Categories

