Posted by: medicblog999 | June 18, 2010

A Message

I know I have people in my own service who read my blog and learn from and appreciate my writing.

I know I have people in my own service who read my blog and wait for me to trip up.

I know I have people in my own service who actively look for things to get me into trouble.

I now know I have people in my own service who have tried to cause trouble for me and this blog.

So, here again is the disclaimer that has sat in the side bar, since day one:

“I respect my patients and colleagues confidentiality. What you read here is essentially a work of fiction based on real life events. The stories will be changed in many ways to ensure anonymity of all involved, except me!

But rest assured, the essence of the tale will remain. I will be honest with my feelings my thoughts and my emotions, that much I can promise you!”

As it states, these stories are a work of fiction. Yes they are based on real patients, but you will not know who they are, Okay.

This means that I dont gain consent, because I am not sharing any of their personal details, ok?????

As I said in my last post, I need time to think.

I cant decide if this blog should continue or not, I dont know if it is worth the risk.

I have already made other decisions, and those I will share with you soon, but thatpost will be the only post for a while.

I will still be around. I will still be tweeting and twittering with you all, and rest assured that I will also be reading all of your blogs and chucking in the odd comment or two.

Until then my friends……


Responses

  1. Nil carborundum illegitimi(Don't let the barstewards grind you down)

  2. Nil carborundum illegitimi(Don't let the barstewards grind you down)

  3. Your blog is a credit to both you and your service, be proud of what you do and what you have acheived with your blog, there's alot of jealous people out there who have and will look for ways of getting to you, but your stronger than them, ride it and be the Mark that I know and respect….

  4. Your blog is a credit to both you and your service, be proud of what you do and what you have acheived with your blog, there's alot of jealous people out there who have and will look for ways of getting to you, but your stronger than them, ride it and be the Mark that I know and respect….

  5. Mark, 100% support from here mate. Your blog is an inspirational contribution to life and learning in prehospital emergency medicine. I limit my google reader feed to 20 or so EMS blogs, and yours has always been right up there with my favourites – and I very much look forward to every new post that comes out. I appreciate your stories and thoroughly enjoy reading them. Thankyou.

  6. I am SO sorry to hear that there are those making problems for you. Some people…

  7. My friend Mark- Thank you for sharing what is obviously a very difficult set of circumstances facing you. If you might allow me, I'd like to offer you a different perspective from out here in the Internets.Take the time you need to sort it all out. When you reach a decision, I trust it will be the correct path for you to take. Why do I assume this? I base my assumption completely upon the character of the person I have come to know, albeit only a few time in person, but many hours in the blogosphere. I could be selfish and fret for you to stay active, but I, like many others, have too much respect for the man you are.So do what you determine is right, and we will all back you up on it.Your buddy forever, John

  8. Little people, with little lives like to trip up those whom are good at what they do.People without lives or the will to actually live, will always attack those that do.You do a good job herre and I enjoy the visits I make to this site. Hate to see it stop. Especially because of little people.We call them Democrats here.

  9. Mark, 100% support from here mate. Your blog is an inspirational contribution to life and learning in prehospital emergency medicine. I limit my google reader feed to 20 or so EMS blogs, and yours has always been right up there with my favourites – and I very much look forward to every new post that comes out. I appreciate your stories and thoroughly enjoy reading them. Thankyou.

  10. I am SO sorry to hear that there are those making problems for you. Some people…

  11. My friend Mark- Thank you for sharing what is obviously a very difficult set of circumstances facing you. If you might allow me, I'd like to offer you a different perspective from out here in the Internets.Take the time you need to sort it all out. When you reach a decision, I trust it will be the correct path for you to take. Why do I assume this? I base my assumption completely upon the character of the person I have come to know, albeit only a few time in person, but many hours in the blogosphere. I could be selfish and fret for you to stay active, but I, like many others, have too much respect for the man you are.So do what you determine is right, and we will all back you up on it.Your buddy forever, John

  12. Surely, not another blog to disappear due to pressures exerted by colleagues and / or the service the blogger works for..I hope you can find a way Mark. Your blog really is showing the way forward, proactively showing all of us that we can learn from each other. Good luck sorting out whatever problem has presented itself.

  13. Surely, not another blog to disappear due to pressures exerted by colleagues and / or the service the blogger works for..I hope you can find a way Mark. Your blog really is showing the way forward, proactively showing all of us that we can learn from each other. Good luck sorting out whatever problem has presented itself.

  14. Haters will always hate- usually because something in themselves is lacking, and they know it. You make NEAS and even the NHS look good, even great. They should probably be thanking you for showcasing them as such an efficient, patient-focused operation. Could there be improvements? Of course, as there can be in every service. And YOU are helping to bring those improvements- partially as a result of your blogging experience. You've done good things here. I hope to see you continue doing so for a long time to come.

  15. I'm disgusted that anyone in a caring profession (or in my case an amateur) should want to do you down.Who are these freaks? Surely, the good press you give the ambulance service should make them happy!I've been reading your posts for 2+ years but I think I'd have to really put work in to finding out who your patients were. Those who would find it easier would be those with whom you can, nay, must, share the information with.The venomous tw*ts who are trying to pull you down are either people who can't write a blog or those who could never aspire to your skills.(If you are one of those shits, go away. EMS can manage without you thanks. All 999 ever does is make the world of EMS more accessible to the layman and to spread good practice around the rest of us. In doing so, he enhances the profile of the Service.)

  16. Thanks John, that means alot, but you also know that sometimes you need to pick your battles, and without the outward support of the Trust, that would be a battle that I would likely loose.Still thinking, but coming to a decision.Miss seeing you at work, we could have a long discussion about this one if you were here!I hope you are recovering well and hope to see you sometimes soon…. Still waiting for the invite for Mrs999 and I.

  17. Agreed.When I think of NEAS I think of Mark & the positive, progressive, patient centred service he delivers as a public servant for that trust. NEAS should show support for you Mark.As for the begrudgers, they won't change, they're not happy with you, the world, probably not happy in their jobs & definitely ever will be happy as Mark.

  18. I trust you will make the right decision for you and your family Mark.

  19. If I had a nickel for every time some fool tried to make me and Rescuing Providence look bad, I'd have a lot of nickels.

  20. If I had a nickel for every time some fool tried to make me and Rescuing Providence look bad, I'd have a lot of nickels.

  21. Wow. I just assumed all the assholes were here in the United States.Tom

  22. Wow. I just assumed all the assholes were here in the United States.Tom

  23. People with great minds talk about ideasPeople with average minds talk about eventsPeople with small minds talk about other peopleI would also add that racism, predjudice, hatred and a general opposition to progress flourish because these small minded people talk louder and longer then those that should be heard. It is you decision wether or not to continue but I would say your silence would be deafening.

  24. People with great minds talk about ideasPeople with average minds talk about eventsPeople with small minds talk about other peopleI would also add that racism, predjudice, hatred and a general opposition to progress flourish because these small minded people talk louder and longer then those that should be heard. It is you decision wether or not to continue but I would say your silence would be deafening.

  25. …And sometimes they're called Republicans.Some things are — and must be — above politics.

  26. Well, posting as someone not only outside the NEAS, but outside the profession, I can only say how gutted I am to see that petty-minded individuals are intent on spoiling the party.I think this blog paints the NEAS in a great light. Your posts on how you care for your patients inspire me in my daily life to look further than my initial assumptions about a person, and take those few moments to think 'what is actually going on here?' rather than react without thinking. Of course, sometimes the initial assumption is right, but God knows, if you guys can take the time to check someone out who is being abusive and violent, I can hang my judgement on a hook for a moment too. That's a personal benefit.On a professional note, I'm committed to improving best practice at the place I work. It's not part of my job, but I think it's everyone's duty to do the job they are paid for to the best of their ability. I also face resistance from people who, for whatever reason, think this is a bad idea – they can't wait for me to fall on my face. But in big companies (and the public sector), bottom-up change is hard. I'm very proud that NEAS seem (from your posts) to have bought in to this idea of a global effort to share best practice in EMS – it's a very rare thing that management listen to the 'little people' but in my experience, that company is always better off for it. Policy formulation has to be a two-way thing. This blog and the CoEMS project give me great hope for evidence-driven change in not just the NHS, but large-scale organisations as a whole. Certainly it's given me some great ideas – though jetting across the Atlantic is out of my 'buttons and pocket-fluff' budget and a TV project about my job would be boring as hell!So there you go. This blog is a learning experience for me, as well as a good read. I hope you keep it up and the people who are trying to make trouble for you realise that this… is a good thing. Just a good thing, with people trying to make a difference.At least I assume it is. I think I would have noticed if CoEMS was a front for a Satan-led invasion of the Earth from the Dungeon Dimensions… Cthulhu, pass the biscuits?

  27. My $0.02… they are just jealous that they are not as awesome as you!!! And you are that – AWESOME!!! HUGGLES from across the great big pond..

  28. Medic999 – You are absolutely right to follow your instincts. Protect yourself and your family. Scene safety and all of that… However, I am very disappointed that you have been forced to this. I have read your blog avidly as an opportunity to compare and contrast my own practice. I have learned from you and have seen your passion for your profession. It is both and entertainment and an educational loss to our profession for your blog to close. Booo to those who are simply afraid of what they do not know, and don`t take the time to investigate. All the best to you, Mark.

  29. Hello Mark, I don’t belieeeeve it!!! I am gutted and saddened that it has come to this, I am a newbie, I have been in the service for 2 years now and I can honestly say it was down to a few kind words and advice from you that I decided to stay. Reading your blogs and gaining experience this way from the advice given from the world has improved my clinical knowledge so much and it really has made the difference when treating patients, I cannot thank you enough for the experience you have given me and the time you have spent on your blog.
    I can pick up the vibes on why you are stopping the blog, I do get frustrated with the way things are run and the idiotic ways, efforts should be made to sort that out before looking at ways to demoralise its workforce. Many thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

