Posted by: medicblog999 | June 11, 2010

A comment to make me think….

If you have been reading my blog for a while now, you will have read on multiple occasions, my thoughts on religion and my own personal beliefs, or lack of them.

Today, a comment popped up from my old blog site, from a post from about a year ago, which detailed my thoughts and troubles following a particularly difficult suicide I had to deal with.

If you haven’t read the original post, then click here to read it to put the following comment into context.

The comment that came in is from a gentleman calling himself ‘FirePastor’

As his name suggests he is a pastor for his Fire Service and EMT`s and he has put forward his own views for me to mull over and consider. I dont see his comments as preaching to me, but I do very much appreciate the sentiments in his comments.

So much, that I felt it was a waste for it to sit hidden in an old post on an old inactive blog site. With that in mind, here it is :

“I just read this today, a little over a year after you wrote it I do believe.

I have to tell you that I am a man of devout faith. I am actually a pastor and chaplain to my firefighters/rescue emt’s. In regards to one of your last paragraphs. You stated something to the sorts of you didn’t believe in Heaven or Hell but an afterlife. You commented earlier than that about you hope the young lady found peace. Heaven equals peace. That is just the deep down in our spirit realization of who our creator is whether we acknowledge him or not.

I don’t want you to think I’m coming down on you for this because that is not my intentions. I wanted to put another opinion out their for you to consider. I know you say you sometimes would love to have faith but that would mean this young one would go to hell because suicide is sin. Lets look at this carefully. I think that suicide is very selfish because its not just yourself that has to deal with your actions but everyone…..including you and other first responders. You aren’t by yourself. That said, I am of the conclusion (through scripture of course) that:
#1- We have no idea how God works in situations like this.
#2-There is no telling what feelings or thoughts of remorse went through that young ladies mind while in the act…..the scriptures tell us that he knows our thoughts as well, not just our actions.
#3- We will ultimately never know the eternal destiny of this young woman until we ourselves get their.

There IS a God and we will give an account for our lives one day when we stand judgement before his holiness. There is salvation in Jesus Christ for those who accept him. It doesn’t take all of the brains in the world to accept faith but to accept willingly that there is forgiveness. If you want to reference that you will find it in 2 Corintians chapter 3.

I didn’t write this to preach at you but to shed awareness. I hope I wasn’t too forward with all of this as well. I am sure that the Lord’s heart broke when your patient made that decision, BUT He is the one who decides…..I trust in his judgement because it’s a lot better than my finite mind will ever comprehend. I will be in prayer for you and everyone else associated in this tragedy.

I dont really have a great deal to say about it, but I felt it deserved sharing.

I keep saying that I dont believe, but yet even I now acknowledge that all of my questioning seems to point to the fact that I am searching for some sort of meaning in what we see and deal with through our profession. Whether that is a religious quest, or just trying to get a handle on the whole ‘bad things happen to good people’ that I keep seeming to see, is the question.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and share your beliefs ‘FirePastor’. I really do appreciate it.

Your words havent convinced me of anything other than what I already ‘feel’, but they have made me think again, and for that I thank you.

Responses

  1. I am at a loss for words. I was perusing the blogs again this evening and somehow found Mr. Medic 999's NEW blog. By the way Mr. Medic one of your astronauts the Pilot of STS-119 also, just made another trip as Pilot of STS-132 just last month. He was able to see an almost completed ISS. You can look him up at nasa.gov, d. antonelli. Was possibly Atlantis' last flight but, I am happy to report that they carried with them a member of the ESA with them. I think he's from Newcastle? Anyway, after finding this response I hit my knees in prayer, thanking the Lord that it actually made it to you somehow. My heart was just burdened throughout reading your post that you were searching for answers. When coming across this update, it was immediate confirmation to me. I usually NEVER post comments on blogs but had to be obedient and yeild to the Spirit's guidance. (I know…kinda makes us believers sound demented but I will own that for my Lord.) I had no intentions of medling in your business but felt like I connected somehow……weird..I know. I AM a pastor, but us ministers don't get rich in our profession (if you are based off scripture) soooo I supplement our income as a FF/Paramedic. I am also the assistant chaplain for both departments. So you assumed correctly. I just wanted you to know how much your response means to me and to let you know that I'm not here to “convert” you. That's the Lord's job, BUT I am held accountable for speaking what I know is truth. So, I am here for you if you ever have any questions on ANYTHING you feel I may be able to shed a different “light” on. Pun intended. You now have another dedicated reader who will keep up with your blog regardless if we are many miles apart. I am truly thankful that you recieved my comment and once again, if you ever need anything, I'm only a few keystrokes away.

  2. a.k.a. FirePastor…….sorry i'm new at this.

  3. I honestly don't think I could do my job if I did not have my faith, there are days when its all that keeps me going.

  4. I honestly don't think I could do my job if I did not have my faith, there are days when its all that keeps me going.

  5. I remember reading this blog a few months ago when I found out about the whole EMS blogging world. I was touched by it then and I still am now. I thought to my self how glad I was I had never had to deal with anything like this in my EMS career but also I had some envy because I felt like I hadn't had the experience that some providers have had. (I have only been in EMS for 2 years.) Well I am sad to say a couple of weeks ago I had the chance to have a call like this. I really wish I hadn't. It was by far the hardest call I have ever had to deal with. A young man, 15, decided to take his own life. I am not really a man of faith, I do like to think there is something else after all of this, and I hope this young man is in a better place. I sometimes wish I had the faith that others have. However I am not sure it would have made coping with this horrible day any easier. For anyone who wants to read about my job with suicide I have it posted below. I hope to not offend Mr. Glencorse by posting a link of my blog on his. Mark, your writing still amazes me! Thank you for sharing all of your stories, knowledge and gift with us!http://medicdan.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/priori

  6. I will be perfectly honest with you Dan. I feel horrible that you had to experience the loss of someone so young with nothing but potential to live long, successful lives. I will also say that just because I am a man of faith, it still doesn't kill that sting of sorrow you speak of. Granted, it is amazing to have a Father in Heaven to talk with about our problems, praises, etc…but sometimes things like this just seem to knock the breath out of us. I know on my department in January we had a terrible crash involving one of our apparatus that ultimately resulted in major trauma to one of our firefighters. He was told 4 months later that he would never walk again, that he would be parapeligic for the rest of his life. He is 20 years old, unmarried, United States Marine Corp Reserve, and had a very promising future in FF/Rescue. After all he has been through it would be easy for a young man like him to be mad at God for allowing this to happen. BUT. For those who know him (The Lord) there is no other comfort like the peace he provides. Is the kid upset about all of the things he will miss out on? Absolutely. But, then again, he has peace on top of it all. He says “he has no idea why it happened” but “it is what it is, and I am not going to forsake my God just because I didn't get my way.” He says, “I am thankful I was able to pull through the way I did.” Now your situation didn't have a silver lining……….or did it? None of us know what spiritual state someone is in, nor do we know some of the mental torment these poor ones endure. So is leaving here that bad of an option? Honestly if you were to ask me, I would much rather be rejoicing on the streets of heaven today, than be here trapped in an aging body. In Galatians, Paul said, To live is Christ, but to die is gain.” Speaks for itself. I guess when it all boils down to it in these circumstances, I'm reminded of 2 verses of scripture that get me through. 2 Cor 12:9…and….2 Tim 5:17.”My grace is sufficient for YOU. For my power is made perfect in weakness.””Pray without ceasing, giving praise in ALL things.”I guess its easy for me to say it than it is for many to understand and accept it. I wish there were some magic words that I could say to help you, Mark, myself, and anyone for that matter; that would make all of the hurt go away. Believe me, if I could, I would. That isn't within MY power, but if you are ever interested (not forced) in knowing the one who has dominion over all things, give me a shout and I will gladly see about setting up a meeting between the two. Selah.

  7. I remember reading this blog a few months ago when I found out about the whole EMS blogging world. I was touched by it then and I still am now. I thought to my self how glad I was I had never had to deal with anything like this in my EMS career but also I had some envy because I felt like I hadn't had the experience that some providers have had. (I have only been in EMS for 2 years.) Well I am sad to say a couple of weeks ago I had the chance to have a call like this. I really wish I hadn't. It was by far the hardest call I have ever had to deal with. A young man, 15, decided to take his own life. I am not really a man of faith, I do like to think there is something else after all of this, and I hope this young man is in a better place. I sometimes wish I had the faith that others have. However I am not sure it would have made coping with this horrible day any easier. For anyone who wants to read about my job with suicide I have it posted below. I hope to not offend Mr. Glencorse by posting a link of my blog on his. Mark, your writing still amazes me! Thank you for sharing all of your stories, knowledge and gift with us!http://medicdan.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/priori

  8. I will be perfectly honest with you Dan. I feel horrible that you had to experience the loss of someone so young with nothing but potential to live long, successful lives. I will also say that just because I am a man of faith, it still doesn't kill that sting of sorrow you speak of. Granted, it is amazing to have a Father in Heaven to talk with about our problems, praises, etc…but sometimes things like this just seem to knock the breath out of us. I know on my department in January we had a terrible crash involving one of our apparatus that ultimately resulted in major trauma to one of our firefighters. He was told 4 months later that he would never walk again, that he would be parapeligic for the rest of his life. He is 20 years old, unmarried, United States Marine Corp Reserve, and had a very promising future in FF/Rescue. After all he has been through it would be easy for a young man like him to be mad at God for allowing this to happen. BUT. For those who know him (The Lord) there is no other comfort like the peace he provides. Is the kid upset about all of the things he will miss out on? Absolutely. But, then again, he has peace on top of it all. He says “he has no idea why it happened” but “it is what it is, and I am not going to forsake my God just because I didn't get my way.” He says, “I am thankful I was able to pull through the way I did.” Now your situation didn't have a silver lining……….or did it? None of us know what spiritual state someone is in, nor do we know some of the mental torment these poor ones endure. So is leaving here that bad of an option? Honestly if you were to ask me, I would much rather be rejoicing on the streets of heaven today, than be here trapped in an aging body. In Galatians, Paul said, To live is Christ, but to die is gain.” Speaks for itself. I guess when it all boils down to it in these circumstances, I'm reminded of 2 verses of scripture that get me through. 2 Cor 12:9…and….2 Tim 5:17.”My grace is sufficient for YOU. For my power is made perfect in weakness.””Pray without ceasing, giving praise in ALL things.”I guess its easy for me to say it than it is for many to understand and accept it. I wish there were some magic words that I could say to help you, Mark, myself, and anyone for that matter; that would make all of the hurt go away. Believe me, if I could, I would. That isn't within MY power, but if you are ever interested (not forced) in knowing the one who has dominion over all things, give me a shout and I will gladly see about setting up a meeting between the two. Selah.

  9. The faith that some people demonstrate is something I respect deeply. I am not religious, but I am “spiritual”. I do not believe in a “God” rather in the need to do the “right” thing and also in the hope that others will follow the example and ultimately contribute to a better world.I guess my “dis-belief” is a product of what I have seen and been doing in this field for nearly 30 years. I am still amazed at the survival of some patients, and staggered by what causes some to succumb… I can look to the amazement as the thing that keeps me going and trying. I suppose, to some, it would be easier to put the stuff down to an omniscient being and just accept it as that. I, sadly, do not have what it takes to file it away like that. (some times I wish I did)I do appreciate the views of others, and try to understand the beliefs and what drives the devout followers of faith. But in this instance, while I do find it comforting to a degree, there is the ever questioning mind of mine, and the almost innate inability to accept what I cannot see or explain…Go kindly friends, and safe home!

  10. That pretty much sums up the way I feel too Bob!

  11. No offence whatever Dan.Im glad you shared it with us.

  12. That pretty much sums up the way I feel too Bob!

  13. No offence whatever Dan.Im glad you shared it with us.

  14. I hope you don't mind my commenting, I have just found your blog. What a beautiful letter he wrote to you. Beautifully said. There are somethings that are the mysteries of God, we can't know them until he opens our spiritual eyes, ears, etc… We may not understand all that happens down here, but we must remember…we are in a fallen world. Bad things go on because of this corruption. For now.

  15. I'd also like to add…God takes care of his own.I realize you have been going through some difficult things, please know God is a source of great protection in times when others mean you harm. He can turn a situation around in your favor and protect you. Just a little something to think on.I wish you well Medic.

  16. As his name suggests he is a pastor for his Fire Service and EMT`s and
    he has put forward his own views for me to mull over and consider. I
    dont see his comments as preaching to me, but I do very much appreciate
    the sentiments in his comments.got same idea!Heath Miller Jersey
    Hines Ward Jersey


Leave a Reply

Categories

