Posted by: medicblog999 | May 25, 2010

Who`s reality is real?

wrath_of_godAfter finishing looking after a patient who informed me that he was the son of God and has been placed back on the earth to help us negotiate through the final years of our survival after spending 3 years in Hell, I couldnt help but think a little.

I had a student with me on that shift and the look on Caths face when she glanced over to me to gain some guidance on “what the he’ll do I write for that” was priceless.

We sat down together at the hospital and went over what he had told us.

“So, do I write that he was delusional?”

“Nope, how can we say if he is delusional or not? We may think that, but in his mind, that is his reality”

I went on to explain that the only way to complete a Patient Report Form accurately is to document what we witnessed and quote directly some of what he said.

My thoughts on the case are a whole other matter though.

I keep having this feeling/belief/concern/ that what if some of the delusional people currently sectioned under the Mental Health Act are telling the truth?

How do I know, sitting in my ambulance that he was not sent from God? (apart from the fact that I am not religious!)

After all, if you believe in a God then surely you must believe that at some point in history, someone appeared who turned out to be a Divine being and changed the course of history and humanity forever, right?

Maybe if Jesus did actually exist (please don’t be offended by the ‘if’) but appeared in the year 2010, he would end up sectioned in a Mental Health Unit just like my patient was about to be.

I don’t make any assumptions anymore. I will care for my patients the same way no matter what they are telling me, but there is always that niggling thing there.

Maybe the next patient I get who tells me that they are a time traveler, actually will be!

Responses

  1. I hope you get to treat Dr Who 🙂

  2. Tsk, tsk! There's no 'if' about whether Jesus existed as a historical figure, Mark – there is ample (non-Christian) evidence of that fact – although (obviously!) not everyone recognises His divinity.I don't think that this is the place for a discussion about faith, but, since you ask, yes, I do believe that He changed the course of history and humanity.Thank you for all you do in caring for your patients (whatever they may tell you!)

  3. I'm told the average New York City subway rider encounters this dilemma on a weekly basis.I'm with you Mark- if Jesus ever did come back, he'd probably end up 4-pointed, Haldol'd, and catheterized before it was all over. We've all heard that we should treat our patients like we'd treat our own grandmother. Do we need to treat them (at least the psychs) like they're all Jesus too? Food for thought! 😉

  4. No, he was delusional. In fact, it would be OK to write “Nucking Futz” on the report. We make judgments every shift, it's what we are paid to do. Neither of my grandmothers thought that they were Jesus, so I never had to treat either of them as psych patients. OTOH, it used to be pretty easy to tell delusional people. They'd be walking down the street talking into thin air. We'd just grab them and transport to the hospital. Now it's more likely that it's just that they are talking on their cell phone. Which doesn't mean that they aren't delusional, just that they now have an excuse.

  5. Statistically, one in four people are crazy. Look at three of your friends. If they're sane, YOU'RE IT!

  6. Always a unique perspective, Mark! I'm back to blogging after a hiatus. Great to see you're keeping up the good work.

  7. BJ – I would love to get into a discussion about faith etc, they are some of the most interesting chats to have, but you are right, and EMS Blog maybe isnt the place. If we bump into each other when I am in the States though, you are more than welcome to try and convince me!And wehter he actually existed or not does not change the fact that Jesus and the Bible (wether it is a statement of fact or a collection of moral tales) has absolutely changed the world. That, you and I can agree on!

  8. MMMmmmm, interesting……

  9. Aha, my point exaclty!What if the person muttering to themselves as they walk down the street is in fact communicating with some inter dimensional being at a higher level than we cant comprehend???

  10. Yup, sounds about right!

  11. Great to see you back again. I shall be keeping an eye out for upcoming posts from you,

  12. Disclaimer- I am not a master of psychology. I was taught that delusional was a diagnosis that can only be made by a doctor (yes technically all diagnosis can only be made by a doctor, we are just puppets). Most psychologists go follow they standard that Psychosis is “a loss of contact with reality”. Reality is not a concept written in stone, but it's more of whats acceptable to society. I am not a lawyer either. Technical definition of reality is the state of things as the actually exist.

  13. From “Kentucky Fried Movie” -The Nurse: I'm not asking you to run, I'm asking you to face reality! The Architect: Whose reality, yours or mine? The Nurse: My reality AND yours, that's whose! The Architect: What are you saying? The Nurse: Leave her! Come back to Montana with me! The Architect: I could no sooner run away from her than myself! The Nurse: I'm not asking you to run, I'm asking you to face reality! The Architect: Whose reality, yours or mine? The Nurse: My reality AND yours, that's whose! The Architect: What are you saying?

  14. Well, look at it this way. In the past, whenever someone was sent from God, God told them what to do and where to go. If they ran into trouble, they prayed and asked for God's assistance. God provided.So if you're mental patient was sent from God, he'll find a way to get out when he's needed. Maybe God wants him there. Right?:3

  15. Well, look at it this way. In the past, whenever someone was sent from God, God told them what to do and where to go. If they ran into trouble, they prayed and asked for God's assistance. God provided.So if you're mental patient was sent from God, he'll find a way to get out when he's needed. Maybe God wants him there. Right?:3

  16. I have worked in MH units and have often thought the same thing myself about people. One woman said she was seeing people out on the lawn. This was taken as her having hallucinations. The thing is staff had also reported seeing things and the area we were in there were a lot of stories going around. Maybe she was hallucinating, maybe she was seeing things. I am pretty open minded with a lot of things. I am not religious at all anymore, however, what if there was a second coming…as you say, they would probably be sectioned!


Leave a Reply

Categories

