Posted by: medicblog999 | May 8, 2010

EMS Blogging takes a big step forward

writing-2

I had some exciting news the other day, and I figured I should share it with you all to show how the industry and profession of pre-hopsital care is starting to see the value in EMS Blogs.

I approached a very well respected and well know research based, peer reviewed journal last week with an offer to write for them. After all, nothing ventured, nothing gained right?

I had an idea to do a permanent feature in the journal where I would introduce and show case one EMS blogger each month, then write a round up about what the main topics of discussion and interest are in the EMS Blogosphere for that month. I assumed that there would be some discussions to be had and some explanations to be given about bloggers and blogging to allay the usual fears of the establishment about what we do.

I never would have imagined that the journal would have such a forward thinking and open minded editor.

Its one week after I sent the email and it has been suggested that I will have a 2 or 2.5 page spread each month to bring the readers the views from the EMS Blogosphere. All I need to do is send in my first two planned articles for the editorial team to review, and then hopefully, its full steam ahead.

Im sure I am not the only one to think that this is a huge step forward.

Yes, we have a presence on line through the various web sites such as JEMS, Fire&EMS Blogs, EMS1 etc, but to actually be included in a print periodical that focuses on research,practice development and education is a fundemental shift in how bloggers are seen and should also start to open up new groups of readers that we have never been able to access before.

Im not going to say the name of the journal quite yet, as I want to make sure everything goes as planned before I announce it all formally, but I thought I would put something up as I am taking a few days away from the blog  to concentrate on coming up with the standard of writing that should sit along side academic papers.

I tell you what though, its a whole other thing writing for publication rather than just putting my thoughts on to my blog.

Exciting times though, im sure you will agree.

Wish me luck, im going in!

Responses

  1. Fantastic news, Mark. Well done!

  2. […] *  Mark Glencorse at Medic999 has just made a major breakthrough for EMS bloggers.  He just took a shot in the dark hoping for a bit of luck and instead brought in the big prize.  This is a tremendous job of helping bring blogging more into the mainstream of journalism.  Please…read is posting from today HERE. […]

  3. Great news! I'll wish you luck, even though you don't need it.

  4. Mark, I'm sure they've read your stuff. I'll tell you the simple advice I have been given by many published writers:” Write what you KNOW, and write it with your audience in mind.” Sounds simple, but it will still take a bit of juggling. You need to work at the proof reading part, or look for a good proofreader (I know you have a proof reader, but she will need to be a bit more critical for this stuff), perhaps a proof reader who is not involved in EMS. I had a good one once and she drove me to drink, but I learned a LOT. Then you just have to check your facts and document what you can (the writers say “cite your sources”). You'll do great and I congratulate you on getting published. I have written for many years online and for various non-print publications and did a privately published book. But I finally had an article accepted for publication in a Occupational Health and Safety Magazine for publication in September. It speaks toward the way first aiders and frist responders are trained in the industrial environment in the US. I am certain what you write will be much more interesting, and reach a wider audience than what I have written. I hope you are receiving remuneration for your work. I am not, and should have asked that up front. It's funny, they said 'Your article is twice as long as anything we normally publish, but the content is excellent and valuable to our readers, so we will publish it as written.' Many trade publications only pay their staff writers I can't wait to see your work show up in hard print.Rock on,Capt. Tom

  5. Great news! I'll wish you luck, even though you don't need it.

  6. Mark, I'm sure they've read your stuff. I'll tell you the simple advice I have been given by many published writers:” Write what you KNOW, and write it with your audience in mind.” Sounds simple, but it will still take a bit of juggling. You need to work at the proof reading part, or look for a good proofreader (I know you have a proof reader, but she will need to be a bit more critical for this stuff), perhaps a proof reader who is not involved in EMS. I had a good one once and she drove me to drink, but I learned a LOT. Then you just have to check your facts and document what you can (the writers say “cite your sources”). You'll do great and I congratulate you on getting published. I have written for many years online and for various non-print publications and did a privately published book. But I finally had an article accepted for publication in a Occupational Health and Safety Magazine for publication in September. It speaks toward the way first aiders and frist responders are trained in the industrial environment in the US. I am certain what you write will be much more interesting, and reach a wider audience than what I have written. I hope you are receiving remuneration for your work. I am not, and should have asked that up front. It's funny, they said 'Your article is twice as long as anything we normally publish, but the content is excellent and valuable to our readers, so we will publish it as written.' Many trade publications only pay their staff writers I can't wait to see your work show up in hard print.Rock on,Capt. Tom

  7. Congrats Mark, and thank you for taking this big step forward for the EMS community. I'm anxious to read it.

  8. Congrats Mark, and thank you for taking this big step forward for the EMS community. I'm anxious to read it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

