Posted by: medicblog999 | April 24, 2010

CoEMS at the Zoll Summit – Part 2

File1-New-Picture-19-300x188

If you haven’t read part one, the link is here, or just scroll down the page two posts.

…….

The discussion that followed the session, proved to be both interesting and stimulating. Comments and questions came in from operational staff, systems managers, and Chiefs and unlike most of the other appearances that Justin and I have done, there was only a couple of questions about the show and the differences that we observed in each others service.

This time we achieved what we had hoped and had a great back and forth about the merits and dangers of using social media in an EMS system. We received questions from members of services that have a blanket ban on anyone using any social media platforms whilst at work; we discussed the impact of the now notorious medic/doctor animated video; we talked about how the responsible use of social media and embracing this ever growing community can bring real change and benefit to patients and medics alike.

Then, one of the attendees of our session came up with a great idea. Frankly, its one that we should have thought of long ago, but it never really occurred to us. He suggested that maybe it would be a good idea for the Chronicles of EMS to come up with a guidance document to assist services in writing and enforcing a social media policy that will allow employees to use social media without fear of recrimination from their employers and which could also serve as a means to allay some of the fears that management have over the use of social media.

It is something that both Justin and I intend to look at and produce within the not to distant future to make available for free on the Chronicles of EMS website.

The question and answers took us over our allotted time which was great, but the meant that I had to dash off to see if anyone had turned up at the ballroom for the showing of the pilot of Chronicles of EMS.

As I left the conference room, I noticed the electronic display on the wall next to the door into the room, and being the geek I am, I had to take a photo for prosperity. The first formal guest speaking invitation for CoEMS :

coems denver1

I left our conference area and headed to the ballroom, but as I turned the corner my heart dropped as I looked in and saw that it was empty. Now, in all honesty, I didn’t expect many as it was the end of the day and everyone would be going back to hotel rooms for the evening function starting at 6pm, but I thought there may be a few.

A few minutes later, Justin turned up and we had a quick conversation about if we should just pack it up for the day. We decided to give it one more shot of the microphones on full volume in the ballroom to try and get some interest in from the people walking past outside, on their way to their rooms.

coems denver2

Justin drumming up some business using the P.A System of the Ballroom

Sure enough, after Justin worked his magic on the microphone and we spent 5 minutes dragging people into the ballroom, we had a small group waiting to see what the fuss was about.

We started the show and sat back to watch it yet again, this time in the most grand setting yet. Justin and I now have small parts of the show and private jokes about little things that most people may not see or be aware of, however, if you have watched it as many times as we have, the little things start to jump out.

The episode finished, we got a round of applause from the group watching then again, we got a good selection of questions about where we are planning to go next and when the next episode would be out. We had a great little discussion, and then said our goodbyes to the group.

I went around the back of the stage to turn off both of the massive projectors then made my way back to the control desk where I found Justin talking to an enthusiastic tall gentleman who seemed to be very interested in what we were doing.

I introduced myself and said hello, to which he replied

“Hi, I’m Rick Packer, CEO of Zoll”

Gulp!

What surprised me more than anything though was that he seemed like just a genuine, interested guy, wanting to know more about what we were doing and sharing his excitement. I actually asked Charlotte afterwards if he used to be a medic in a previous working life as he seemed to have that natural interest and personality of a medic.

coems denver3

Another successful partnership for CoEMS & Zoll

What a way to finish off the Summit though!

We packed up our things and spent a few minutes reflecting on what we had done and how we had gotten here. It still amazes me, that this all came from sitting in front of a laptop and wanting to share some of my stories.

Who knows how much farther this will go? I know what I am hoping for, and I sincerely wish that all of my hopes come true, because I truly believe in what the CoEMS team is trying to achieve. What I have also learned is that there is a huge appetite for EMS 2.0, in every form possible. The ground swell is growing month on month. Maybe we can actually make a change at some point.

Zoll Summit 2010, ended for me that night, although the conference itself carried on. Justin had to leave before me so I had another day to prepare to go home and say my goodbyes to so many other new friends.

Little did I know that I didn’t have to hurry to pack my bags after all………

Leave a Reply

Categories

