Posted by: medicblog999 | April 22, 2010

Medic 999 on BBC Radio 4!

bbcRadio4Logo2

Finally at home and enjoying some time with the family again!

Normal blogging will resume at the weekend when I am back on shift, until then its going to be some real family time (apart from this quick post, but Mrs999 is asleep so she wont mind!)

One of my Facebook friends Nick Freeman, sent me a link yesterday to the BBC iplayer programme which had a rerun of the Radio 4 morning show, ‘Today’ on it.

Flick forward to 1hr, 3minutes and 30 seconds in and there I am getting interviewd at 02:00 in Heathrow airport when I was trying to get some sleep on a terminal bench whilst waiting for the tube to open so that I could try and get back to newcastle.

I sound really rather subdued and fed up, but what Im most dissapointed about is that they cut out the references to Zoll and the Chronicles of EMS (oh well, I guess it is the BBC after all!)

Here is the link if you want to go and have a listen:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00rzr8x/Today_21_04_2010/

Whilst coming home on the train yesterday morning I met another lady who had been stuck at Amsterdam airport with her 5 year old son for 5 days. All she was given was an army camp bed, a red blanket and a choice of either cheese or tuna sandwich for her and her son, FOR 5 DAYS! What a nightmare.

I have been very lucky whilst in the US and being on the plane that got turned back. Thank you B.A for looking after me, but I cant help but feel a little guilty that I had such an easy ride compared with so many others who have been and are still stuck around the world. Hopefully all will be home now or very soon.

Responses

  1. It's good to know that you are safe and well and are finally back home and able to spend time with your family. I bet you have missed them loads. Take care 🙂

  2. Mark, if Whitehead (theemtspot.com) had told me you were trapped in Denver for extra days, my paramedic class would have taken you out for more beers. If you make it back to our fair city drop Whitehead a line and we'll get some beers, talk, and hop on an ambulance for awhile (sober of course). Take care, enjoy your time with your family.

  3. Mark, if Whitehead (theemtspot.com) had told me you were trapped in Denver for extra days, my paramedic class would have taken you out for more beers. If you make it back to our fair city drop Whitehead a line and we'll get some beers, talk, and hop on an ambulance for awhile (sober of course). Take care, enjoy your time with your family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

