Posted by: medicblog999 | April 18, 2010

Why I dont go visiting.

_47662402_ash_plume2_786

I am overwhelmed with the number of offers I have had from my Twitter friends for places to stay, ride alongs on their ambulances, meals out, and even flying in to spend some time with me so I don’t get too lonely.

You guys really are the best!

But, every time I say thanks, but no thanks it seems as though I am being ungrateful, and I don’t want you to think that, so I thought I would explain my reasoning for staying put and not moving away from Denver.

I am one of the lucky few who have complete protection from British Airways as I was on the plane that was turned back on Wednesday. As I had checked in and was on the plane, European law ensures that B.A has responsibility for my accommodation and food costs whilst this continues on, for as long as it takes. For those who had flights cancelled before they got to the airport, they don’t have that luxury

They have put me up in a Holiday Inn and have given me three meal vouchers per day for my food. This will continue until I can finally get back home.

I did enquire about going to the East coast and staying in New York then flying home from there. They agreed to the flights and that wouldn’t cost me any money, they would even cover the cost of the hotel, but I would have to claim that back once I got home.

However, my current flight is now booked for Tuesday night from Denver (if the cloud permits), the earliest I could get a definite flight home from New York was Thursday, although there would be a greater chance of getting home earlier due to the amount of flights out of JFK, but if the no fly orders carried on I would very quickly run out of money having to pay for accommodation and meals out of my own pocket.

As for the offers to go and stay with friends over here, the same thing applies. If I check out of the hotel, I lose my right to B.As cover.

The risk just isn’t worth taking.

No one knows how long this is going to last, and it’s a comfort knowing that If need be, I can live in this hotel at no cost to me or my family for as long as required. Sure it’s boring as hell, but there are many, many, many more people stranded who are far worse off than I am.

And finally for those in the Denver area who have offered to take me out for the day, I have been turning those down because if BA suddenly gets permission to fly, the first places they will inform will be the hotels that they have guests in, then it’s a mad rush to airport and see if I can get on a standby slot to get home.

So that’s the reasoning behind saying no to you all. It’s not that I don’t want to , on the contrary, I would love to spend some time with you all because you really have made me feel  cared for whilst I am over here.

I now have so many more friends in the USA than I think I have ever had in the UK and you are all very special.

Thank you, but in the best possible way, I wish we didn’t have to have these discussions.

I just want to go home.

Fingers crossed!!

Responses

  1. Hi Mark,You could possibly take up some offers of meeting people near Denver. For instance, I now know that there will be no flying in UK airspace until 19.00 BST tomorrow.You can check it here: http://www.nats.co.uk/ and if you have an 8-12 hour window, you should be OK. I believe at the moment they are working 24 hours ahead.

  2. Great to hear from you about this Mark. I figured it was something like that but I was feeling for ya! We'll follow your tweets and blog posts to see what happens next.Thanks for taking some time to be on the MedicCast Live and chat briefly with the U.S. army medics on the show. It was great to have you on.

  3. Mark,I understand where you are coming from. If anything at all changes, let me know what I can do to help. Take care and good luck getting home…Christopher Linke

  4. Great to hear from you about this Mark. I figured it was something like that but I was feeling for ya! We'll follow your tweets and blog posts to see what happens next.Thanks for taking some time to be on the MedicCast Live and chat briefly with the U.S. army medics on the show. It was great to have you on.

  5. Mark,I understand where you are coming from. If anything at all changes, let me know what I can do to help. Take care and good luck getting home…Christopher Linke

  6. […] Volcanic ash has one blogger stranded in Denver. (Medic 999) […]

  7. […] course, that’s just the stuff that happened here. We also had the drama of Mark “What’s an Ash Cloud?” Glencorse stuck in Denver. Rogue Medic offered my favorite quote of the month, “Severe pain + 2mg of Morphine = severe […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

