Posted by: medicblog999 | March 31, 2010

REAL Rural EMS!

Also posted over at the Chronicles of EMS

Mt_McKinleyAs I have said numerous times before, one of the best things about being part of the EMS blogosphere is the continuously growing group of people that I get to call friends all around the world. All with one thing in common, a passion for EMS where ever they are.

One such chap is Kyle Bates (@imagemedic on Twitter), author and designer of the website www.kyledavidbates.com I have spoken to Kyle a number of times on the EMS Garage, but just recently he has been acting as a roving advocate for the Chronicles of EMS on his journeys around the USA.

I got a message from him on Twitter last week saying that he was visiting the Interior Region EMS Council Inc, in Alaska, and he thought it would be a wonderful place for the Chronicles team to go and visit. He sent me the link to the website and another message saying just how amazingly rural it actually is. I asked for some more information to which I got a link in a direct message Tweet which I opened whilst bleary eyed after waking up after a terrible sleep following a night shift.

My concentration was immediately focused however, when I saw that he had actually gone and done a Ustream interview with three of the medics for me, so that I could hear all about it first hand. If you think you are rural EMS, compare yourself to this and let me know exactly how rural you actually are?

The video below lasts about 27 minutes and is in my opinion, absolutely fascinating. I can`t imagine being so far away from anyone or any major trauma centres, but I would love to go and experience it first hand with Justin and the team.

All we need now is the sponsorship and money to get there and film another few episodes to share our experiences and questions with you all.

Anyway, here is the video.

Let`s not giggle at the way Kyle is looking at the screen for the first 14 seconds, then how he calls me Mark AND Glen (maybe he knows about my split personality!) 😉

Thanks to the folks at IR EMS for sharing their stories with us, and I hope that Justin, Ted, Chris and I can be working with you sooner rather than later!

Enjoy:

http://www.ustream.tv/flash/video/5765592

Responses

  1. Copper River EMS also covers a very large area, 156 miles of the Richardson Highway (40-196), 53 miles of Tok Cutoff, and 60 miles of the Glenn Highway (125-189). Cross Road Medical Center, located in Glennallen, is the “only MD level provider” in an area approximately “the size of Ohio” according to their website. I am employed at CRMC as an RN.

  2. worked as FF-EMT-Paramedic in Nenana Alaska from 1977 to 1985….talk about rural EMS…..from our southern line it could be 110 miles to Fairbanks Memorial Hospital….a long trip…..now in Western Maine and its 40-60 miles to the ER

  3. worked as FF-EMT-Paramedic in Nenana Alaska from 1977 to 1985….talk about rural EMS…..from our southern line it could be 110 miles to Fairbanks Memorial Hospital….a long trip…..now in Western Maine and its 40-60 miles to the ER


Leave a Reply

Categories

