Posted by: medicblog999 | March 20, 2010

Just send the Wife!

mad-wife-late-husbandSometimes things happen which just make you stop and think….

I have just been stood down from a job as it was deemed to dangerous for me to go to, as I am working alone on the Rapid Response car.

It came through as “Agressive and Drunk”

As I have mentioned in the past, I think we are the only ambulance service in the country that does not knowingly send single maned paramedics to incidents where alcohol is involved. I have wrote previously about how I value that, and how I feel that it shows that my service wants to protect me as much as possible.

However, I had a sudden realisation that as I was stood down, and the job was passed to a crew instead, that it was highly likely that it would be given to my very own good lady, Mrs999, who is also working tonight, but on a crew!

That made me feel more than a little uncomfortable.

What if something had happened to her?……..

I get stood down and my wife gets sent instead!

Now, im all for equality in the work place, but its a bit different when its my own wife who may be getting put at risk instead of me….

Dont like that!

***Update*** She did get sent but got stood down as well, for a higher priority job. Phew!!!

Responses

  1. i work on a double female crew- and whoever is dispatched to the call… stays on the call. MOST of the time we have police on scene, but they've let us down before and I've had to fend for myself. Scary, isn't it. Luckily, us Southern ladies have thick skin and fight back. :)Glad Mrs999 didn't have to go!

  2. I would like to Correct you on the Fact that the control I work in don't send SRV's (Single Response Vehicle) to Drunk/Violent/Drug/Assault type calls.However as my service wasn't perfoming on Cat B calls, which most these end up as. I now have to send SRV's to these calls, and get them to stand off unless police are on scene… so all i'm doing it stopping the clock, not improving patient care at all.Just hope police are on scene when they get there.I just hope the SRV's stand off far enough away. Dont agree with it, but I have to explain myself if I didnt send a SRV and I missed the call.

  3. You make me grateful for a couple of things. First, that my wife doesn't work in my field. And second, that I work in a major metropolitan area and always have cops when I need them. If the situation is even questionable, PD is sent in with us to make sure we are ok. Stay safe.

  4. I was sent to a Cat A – unresponsive male. I was with my then crewmate, also female. We got to just round the corner from the address to be told to stand by and await police as the address had been flagged as dangerous with known firearms.Understandably, we stood by whilst the Police organised their armed response vehicles etc and at last we were able to proceed to scene. On arrival we found an FRU parked outside…At this point was heard rather colourful language and panicky actions from a paramedic – namely me. You see, I recognised the number of the FRU vehicle – that of my husband's call sign for the day. He was already in the property dealing with the patient.Angry conversations with amb control ensued once the patient was sorted. It was a mistake that he was sent into this situation (noooo, really????!!) It could have been a lot worse. He works by himself on a car. I don't stop worrying till he's home and safe with me…

  5. I can sympathize here for sure. My wife and I work opposing shifts, and sometimes it hard to be at home and hear her on the radio knowing that it's a bad call or just a busy day. However, I believe Mrs999 is much like my wife; strong, opinionated and capible of holding her own. That is my reassurance most of the time.

  6. I can sympathize here for sure. My wife and I work opposing shifts, and sometimes it hard to be at home and hear her on the radio knowing that it's a bad call or just a busy day. However, I believe Mrs999 is much like my wife; strong, opinionated and capible of holding her own. That is my reassurance most of the time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

