Posted by: medicblog999 | March 6, 2010

He made my day!

postit_hello

I tell this story not because I think I am anything special, but just because it blew my mind.

In my hotel this weekend there are 600 high school kids also booked in……. I know!!!

However, they all seem to be good kids and so far I haven’t been disturbed on a night time. They are all here for a mock United Nations conference and are representing various countries and interests.

Anyway, as I was making my way to the conference centre yesterday afternoon, for our first session, I had to fight my way through the lobby which was full of hundreds of these kids.

I had 4 of the Chronicles of EMS T-shirts on hangers over my shoulder which we were going to use to display around the Zoll Booth. As I was making my way to the front door I heard a young man behind me shouting

“Sir!, Sir!, Excuse me!………Sir!”

I turned around expecting to be told that I had dropped something when this young smartly dressed man came up to me and said

“Sorry to bother you Sir, But are you Medic999?”

My jaw nearly hit the floor.

“Err, Yes”

“Thats so cool! Im an EMT and I read your blog and follow the Chronicles of EMS. I saw the T-shirts and then recognised you and just wanted to say hi!”

Now, this is no way making me feel big headed but how amazing is that?

I travel across the Atlantic and am walking through a hotel lobby when one of 600 young adults recognises me and takes the time to come and say hi.

We had a short chat about things and I asked him if he was coming over to the conference but unfortunately he was busy with the United Nations thing so wouldnt be able to come, which was a shame.

But, I just wanted to let him know, Mr Eric Lubben, that you made a British medics day by just taking the time to say Hi.

Thank you

Responses

  1. How cool is that? Eveyone loves you Mark.

  2. That is so cool! Makes me smile for you, Mark!

  3. I am not surprised. You are casting a wide net and these “chance” meetings will become more frequent as you travel the world. Still cool though.

  4. I was going to avoid the word, but cool it is!Let's face it Mark, you and Justin are becoming slebs in the EMS world – justifiably in my book. The two of you, along with many other EMS bloggers, are letting a broader audience know what goes on in an “ambulance situation”. You're also encouraging transfer of best practice, which has to be a good idea.It would be even better if we could get more MOPs to read your blogs, but perhaps when Chronicles is shown on UK TV (as it will be), the public will have a better idea of what happens when you call 999 and say “Ambulance please”.

  5. I am not surprised. You are casting a wide net and these “chance” meetings will become more frequent as you travel the world. Still cool though.

  6. I was going to avoid the word, but cool it is!Let's face it Mark, you and Justin are becoming slebs in the EMS world – justifiably in my book. The two of you, along with many other EMS bloggers, are letting a broader audience know what goes on in an “ambulance situation”. You're also encouraging transfer of best practice, which has to be a good idea.It would be even better if we could get more MOPs to read your blogs, but perhaps when Chronicles is shown on UK TV (as it will be), the public will have a better idea of what happens when you call 999 and say “Ambulance please”.

  7. […] Mark Glencorse wrote about it here […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

