Posted by: medicblog999 | February 27, 2010

A HUGE step forward!

****Also posted over at Chronicles of EMS****

blogging

I may be over egging this a bit, but this morning has shown exactly what the Chronicles of EMS is about!

One of our main goals was to get everyone talking, to get everyone discussing issues that are hindering EMS moving forward, and to provide answers and plans to change what we do into a truly recognised health care profession.

This was always going to be a grass roots, ground up movement. That is where its strength and status comes from. It is the people who are at the sharp edge on the ambulances and fire engines who see the problems first hand, and know the solutions, but yet they always come up against a brick wall of red tape and bureaucracy.

Social media has given us all a platform to voice our opinions, ideas and suggestions. Used properly social media is going to move EMS onto much greater and better things.

But…..

We still have to convince the decision makers and policy writers, and sometimes, they are all more than a little scared of social media and the lack of control that they have regarding the content that is shared.

We have moved a long way to allaying those fears through our own self regulation and professional and ethical responsibilities that we take into account when blogging or using facebook or Twitter, and hopefully we will be able to engage the real movers and shakers in our profession on these very same platforms.

Which brings me to my point..

Imagine my surprise this morning, when I have a look on Twitter to see a tweet from Sebastian Wong announcing a blog post on his new blog.

In case you don’t remember, I mentioned Chief Wong when I was writing about my time in San Francisco. If not, you can read that post here.

Personally I find this HUGE!

An Acting Section of EMS Operations of the San Francisco Fire Department has started his own blog to share and discuss his thoughts and musings. Even in his very first post he mentions that they did things wrong during the merger of the Ambulance and Fire Service, and talks about losing some ‘good people’ as a result of this.

We need to show our support to Chief Wong, and we need to encourage other senior management figures to come and join us in this new era of communication and openness.

Seb Wong has started something here that he needs to be commended. From the first time that we spoke over that beautiful steak in San Francisco, I knew that he was the type of man to work with to make things better. Now I know that I was right.

Before I completed this post, I sent him a message to verify that it was ok to mention his full title in this post. He said that was fine, but I also want to include some of the email that he sent back. It shows the kind of man he is, and I am going to use his presence in our community to hopefully dis spell some of the fears about blogging and social media to some of my own senior managers and other influential people in our rapidly growing community :

“One of the reasons why I did this was because and employee told me that he wished there was a greater flow of information from the Administration to the paramedic on the ambulances. You and Justin taught me that information was more important shared that withheld.
As a young supervisor, a person I respected greatly sat me down and told me that my job title may be changed but my duties and responsibilities didn’t. Except they were expanded. He explained to me the concept that is now known as servant leadership. (maybe that’s what I will blog next about.)”

Seriously chaps, go and visit his blog, Really?….Why?…..OK! Leave a comment, subscribe to his RSS Feed and let him know how important it is to have voices like his to help move us forward and embrace EMS 2.0

I for one am excited to hear what he has to say.

Responses

  1. A great step forward indeed. It make me quite happy to see how quickly and positively EMS 2.0 is moving. Three cheers for Chief Wong!

  2. I am very impressed that “Senior Management” are using social media in this way!!I know that in another Ambulance Service in the South of England “Senior Management” are creating a policy to stop people Blogging, Tweeting and Status Messaging about their work….I look forward to the day that a person of a similar standing in the UK follows Chief Wong's example!

  3. I am very impressed that “Senior Management” are using social media in this way!!I know that in another Ambulance Service in the South of England “Senior Management” are creating a policy to stop people Blogging, Tweeting and Status Messaging about their work….I look forward to the day that a person of a similar standing in the UK follows Chief Wong's example!


Leave a Reply

Categories

