Posted by: medicblog999 | January 12, 2010

Medic999 – Fire/EMS Blog of the Year 2009!

fcems094

Unbelievably this little blog from the UK has walked off with the first Fire/EMS blog of the year award. After a frantic 5 days of voting, we managed to just pip Firegeezer to the title tonight.

The support I have received from followers of the blog, twitter users, other bloggers, followers of the Chronicles of EMS, work colleagues and friends has been both amazing and humbling at the same time. Thank you all so much !

Wooo Hoooo!

So, the question to ask is

“Is this blog really the best Fire or EMS Blog out there?”

Absolutely not, but in this case it appears I have some of the best supporters and readers though.

This competition cannot really give a true picture of what could be the best blog, as we are all different in so many ways. You may come to this blog for certain things, usually the ‘fluffy, emotional’ side of EMS; or more recently to read all about Justin’s and my trip for ‘The Chronicles of EMS’, but then you will go to other blogs for different things. If you want to find out information about the Fire side then you will of course be stopping at some of the fire fighter blogs out there.

Of course, if you want both sides then you will do nothing else except go and see my bestest buddy, The Happy Medic.

When you look at who was in this list, especially the complete nomination list, these are all people that I read on a daily basis (or whenever they post). They are bloggers who have inspired me to become a blogger, and who continuously encourage me to write better and more thoughtful posts.

Then of course, there are my readers…..

I feel very humbled that so many of you have taken time out of their days to vote, tweet, and put things up on face book for the last couple of days. It makes me realise how truly AWESOME you all are.

It’s odd that I class so many people that I have never met in person, as friends, and it’s even odder to see some of my old school friends who I have only recently ‘found’ again on Face book getting so involved (that’s especially for you Michael!).

This sounds like some big award acceptance speech, it’s not meant to be like that though. I just want you all to know, fellow bloggers and readers alike, how much I feel part of a real community now.

I cannot believe that it has been just over a year that I have been writing this blog. As you all know, it has been an amazing time, and believe me when I say, this coming year is going to be so much bigger!

And I can’t finish without saying something about my team from the Chronicles of EMS. Last year has ended on such a high for me, after the trip. And this year is starting in just the same way.

It didn’t seem possible for me to be able to travel back out to San Francisco for the premiere event for the pilot episode of the Chronicles of EMS on February 12th, but now thanks to the generosity of some our followers, it seems that I may well be there. Although it feels a little uncomfortable to be accepting ‘donations’ to get me out there, it will be fantastic to be able to be with the team and our supporters on the 12th February.

And finally, a bit about my friend Justin, and the happymedic.com. I know that a large amount of his followers switched to me after it became apparent that I had sneaked ahead, so thank you to all of them. I also know that if Justin had turned on his ‘ruggedly handsome charm’ and chose to get you all supporting him as much as my dear lady did with my readers, then I know that he would be the winner and not me!

But the real winner in this competition is the blogging world. I know for a fact that there are many people who have found new blogs from this competition, and will hopefully spread the word about some of the amazing writers that can be found on-line.

FireCritic, you did a great job organising these awards and hosting them. Thank you for your time and effort and for introducing me to at least one new blog to add to my reading list!

Responses

  1. Mark, congratulations! I am hoping to meet you in person in San Francisco next month. I am assuming that FireCrtitic has secured an outstanding traveling trophy that you will be showing off in San Francisco. Congratulations!

  2. Nice work mate.

  3. You rock! Always use the puppies. Looking forward to more bright spots in my days and learning from some great medics. Thanks.

  4. Congratulations! Blogging done right is difficult, you cracked the code. Well done!

  5. Hi Markcongratulations!! well deserved lv joan from still snowing midlands

  6. Well done Mark.IMHO, tha'rt too modest. For style, you are up with the best – possibly THE best. For content, you beat them all hands down with CoEMS.

  7. congrats, and keep it going! 🙂

  8. You are the man Mark. Many congrats. Keep up all the good work you do and enjoy your well deserved title.

  9. You are the man Mark. Many congrats. Keep up all the good work you do and enjoy your well deserved title.

  10. You are the man Mark. Many congrats. Keep up all the good work you do and enjoy your well deserved title.

  11. […] And guess who is the Fire/EMS blog of the year?! (Medic 999) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

