Posted by: medicblog999 | January 6, 2010

My nomination for Fire/EMS Blog of the Year.

fcems092

As some of you may know, I have had the honour of being nominated and being placed in the final 10 for Fire and EMS Blog of the year 2009. The competition is hosted over at The Fire Critic and voting is currently going on until the 12th of January.

If you think that I deserve your vote then please click here then click on Medic999 to cast your vote for me. You can vote every 8 hours if you so choose also.

Right then, thats the formal stuff out of the way, here is the personal bit for this post.

I am honestly hugely appreciative of the fact that some of my peers think that my blog is deserving of this award, and for me, that is my prize already. Out of the 10 finalists, I subscribe to, and read 9 of them anyway, and completely respect their words and opinions. The only one I dont subscribe to is Engine 9 RFD, and that is only because I have never found that blog before today.

I dont expect to win, there are much more deserving blogs than mine for the accolade, but it is very flattering to see my name amongst some of the giants of the Fire and EMS blog world!!

As you will know, myself and the Chronicles of EMS team were also recently down to the last six for the 2009 Social Media responder of the year award. The voting was the same sort of thing as this, you could vote every day, and there was a lot of activity on Twitter from some of the other finalists to get everyones votes in, and keep people re-voting.

It quickly became obvious that myself, Justin and Ted Setla (from the Chronicles of EMS team), were not really into chasing the votes and so we just let the competition go on. It was great to be amongst those other social media ‘guru’s’, but I think the right people took the leading positions on that one.

What I am trying to say is that, yes, I would love to be able to say that I won this competition, and if you want to vote for me, then I would really appreciate the time you take to click on that link and vote. But, I wont be badgering you all for votes.

I will put a couple of Tweets up about it and I have obviously announced it here, but believe me when I say, if I come dead last, I wont be upset. How could I be when I am standing next to those other guys in the final 10. Remember, I have only been around 1 year anyway!

So, good luck to the other 9 in the competition, and thank you so much for the Judges deciding that this little ol blog from the UK deserved their attention. I am very flattered!!!

Im looking forward to seeing who gets the award!

Thanks again chaps!

Normal blogging will resume with the conclusion of the ‘dilemma’ 3 parter later tonight (If I can get to work through the snow!)

Responses

  1. Hi, Mark. As of 3:30 PM (Eastern US) on Wednesday, you and FireGeezer were tied for first place, with 13 votes each (so the two of you garnered 26 of the 60 votes cast so far).Don't knock yourself, buddy. You're doing one heckuva job (to quote our former President, but in a good way), and you and Justin together are a helluva team.Keep it up.

  2. Mark, you do have a fantastic blog. It is amazing the Project got underway, and your hard work deserves congratulations. Your posts are always interesting, and as I'm from Australia, it's been intriguing to read about your experiences in paramedic practise in both the UK and US. Keep up the fantastic work 🙂

  3. I did not vote for you again.

  4. I did not vote for you again.

  5. Looks like the banner behind the Piper Cub flying over Piccadilly Circus is working for you, you're pulling ahead of your U.S. counterpart! Brains trump beauty!

  6. Looks like the banner behind the Piper Cub flying over Piccadilly Circus is working for you, you're pulling ahead of your U.S. counterpart! Brains trump beauty!

  7. I did not vote for you again.

  8. Looks like the banner behind the Piper Cub flying over Piccadilly Circus is working for you, you're pulling ahead of your U.S. counterpart! Brains trump beauty!


Leave a Reply

Categories

