Posted by: medicblog999 | December 31, 2009

The end of a decade!

happy-new-year-2009

I thought I would quickly steal 20 mins from my break on station to pen a short New Years Eve post.

I can feel the control room counting down the seconds until the send us out again on this wonderfully cold North East night to tend to the sick, injured and let’s face it, mostly drunk citizens of my area, so I had best be quick.

It is the end of a decade, and maybe it is fitting that it is the end of my first decade in EMS too. I started my journey in the ambulance service on Christmas day 1999, so the end of this year marks just over 10 years service in my current guise as a Paramedic.

It has been a fantastic time and I wouldn’t change a single thing, at all!

This year alone has seen my perceptions and thoughts on my profession take on a whole new direction. I no longer look at things in isolation. I tend not to be bothered about the ‘small things’ anymore. There are much bigger things to concentrate on and there are many more people to share these things with.

I am part of a community that up until a year ago, I never really knew existed. That of the International EMS world, and I am fortunate that I can count some of the most influential members of this community as my colleagues and even friends.

I feel privileged to have had this year, and it makes me so much more excited to see what 2010 is going to bring. I hope you all stay and come along with me, and if all goes to plan, I may well get to meet some of you in person.

But most of all, I honestly and truly hope that each and every one of you, and your families, have a wonderful, happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

If I wasn’t at work, I would hoist a pint to you all, but since I am, I`ll lift my can of red bull instead…..

Cheers!!

Responses

  1. I hope you have a good new year and I look forward to your wise and insightful words in 2010, wht did you do before you joined the NEAS.

  2. I hope you have a good new year and I look forward to your wise and insightful words in 2010, wht did you do before you joined the NEAS.

  3. Hi there Geordie RN, Before I was a paramedic, I was a nurse. Right, big deep breath and ……..GO! I trained in Durham from 1992-1995 then worked in Derbyshire Royal (Oncology), then Leeds General (Gynae and Paeds Theatre, General Theatres, Orthopaedic Theatre, Vascular Theatres), then moved back up to Newcastle and worked at the Freeman as part of the CardioThoracic theatre team and transplant retrieval team, then finished off at North Tyneside General hospital working in the main Theatre suite. Before 1992, I was a ……Quasar Laser Gun Marshall, Pizza Chef, Shoe salesman, Ten Pin Bowling instructor and Cocktail Barman..Taa Daa!!!

  4. Quasar Laser Gun Marshall?

  5. Yeah, what's a “Quasar Laser Gun Marshall”?Oh, and Happy New Year, Mark.

    • Quasar Laser was a laser gun shooting game, which I am sure you have or at least had over there too. Upto 20 people in a ‘combat’ room with laser tag vests on running around trying to shoot each other or get to things in the camp.
      I was the ‘Marshall’ which meant that I got to have te Marshall gun which could take lives of other players if they were misbehaving – My first feeling of POWER!!

  6. Yeah, what's a “Quasar Laser Gun Marshall”?Oh, and Happy New Year, Mark.

  7. Yeah, what's a “Quasar Laser Gun Marshall”?Oh, and Happy New Year, Mark.

  8. […] Medic 999 in the United Kingdom said that while it’s the end of a decade, it’s also the end of his first decade as a paramedic. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

