Posted by: medicblog999 | December 29, 2009

My 1st Blogoversary!

blogoversary

This time last year, I was sitting at my laptop at home writing my introduction for my first blog post and foray into the world of the Blogosphere.

I know that my first post didnt go up until the 30th December, but I want my blogoversay to be from when I was actually writing the post, hence it is going to be today!

I was nervous about starting, I knew I wanted to, but what happened if I said something wrong, broke patient confidentiality or upset my employers. Would it really be worth it?

Mrs 999 and I had many conversations about if the risk associated with blogging was worth my livlihood and financial security, but in the end we both knew that I would never blog about anything that would get me into trouble and the experience that I had as being the trusts Information Governance officer for a year, would ensure that I would never divulge anything that could be patient identifiable without their direct and informed permission first.

So, was it worth it?

Its been 1 year.

341 Posts,

159,000 views,

1,777 Comments,

1 Transatlantic once in a life time trip,

More new friends than I would have thought possible and being part of a truly international EMS Family!

So yeah, I guess it has been worth it! 🙂

Thank you for sharing my journey, thank you for taking the time to read my posts and for interacting with me with your comments both on here, Twitter and Facebook.

I feel very privaledged to be part of such a group of professionals and I look forward to what the next year is going to bring.

Hopefully there will be much more from the Chronicles of EMS, but also much more from my normal life as a Paramedic in the North East of England!

Whatever happens, Its going to be fun!!

Responses

  1. Well done hun, here's to lots more blogs. xx

  2. Congratulations Mark!!A great blog, i have really enjoyed reading your blog for last couple months, and was really interested in your trip, keep on blogging xx and happy new year to you and your family,

  3. I can honestly say that yours was the first blog I started following; just a few weeks before you came to SanFran. From your blog, and now others I have my own monster to feed on a daily basis it would seem. Thaks for sharing and caring…this job doesn't seem so lonely now with you guys out there.

  4. I'm not connected to EMS at all (although I'm married to a district nurse if that counts!) but I always find your blog interesting and entertaining 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  5. Congratulations!Have only been around for a few weeks but I'm really enjoying what I'm reading, especially the Chronicles of EMS stuff. What you've achieved in just one year is quite simply amazing. Keep up the great work, and here's to the next year!

  6. A year? Really? Found you on a fluke, almost like a blind date and look what you did with it. Congrats,Brother, let's see what the next 341 posts can teach us!

  7. “Awesome job dude!” (jus in case you were missing California!)Just one question; what is a “Trust Information Governance Officer” (and can I be one when I grow up!)Keep up the good work Mark

  8. “Awesome job dude!” (jus in case you were missing California!)Just one question; what is a “Trust Information Governance Officer” (and can I be one when I grow up!)Keep up the good work Mark

  9. Mark, congratulations. I really enjoy your perspectives on EMS. Need to get you scheduled for an episode of the EMSEduCast podcast to discuss EMS education in the UK, Maybe you can also introduce me to a full time EMS educator in the UK and we could have you both on.

  10. Congratulations, Mark!

  11. Mark, congratulations. I really enjoy your perspectives on EMS. Need to get you scheduled for an episode of the EMSEduCast podcast to discuss EMS education in the UK, Maybe you can also introduce me to a full time EMS educator in the UK and we could have you both on.

  12. Congratulations, Mark!

  13. Wow. Where'd that year go?!Happy 1st Aniversary Mark :o)

  14. Wow. Where'd that year go?!Happy 1st Aniversary Mark :o)

  15. One full year of bloggery? Wow. Congratulations Mr. Mark! For this day, I'll give you a present:Gina says that you're the cute one in the Chronicles of EMS regular cast. Yes, honestly, that's the honest-to-goodness truth. Who woulda thunk she has a thing for goofy-lookin paramedics??Oh, right.Congrats buddy!!

  16. One full year of bloggery? Wow. Congratulations Mr. Mark! For this day, I'll give you a present:Gina says that you're the cute one in the Chronicles of EMS regular cast. Yes, honestly, that's the honest-to-goodness truth. Who woulda thunk she has a thing for goofy-lookin paramedics??Oh, right.Congrats buddy!!

  17. One full year of bloggery? Wow. Congratulations Mr. Mark! For this day, I'll give you a present:Gina says that you're the cute one in the Chronicles of EMS regular cast. Yes, honestly, that's the honest-to-goodness truth. Who woulda thunk she has a thing for goofy-lookin paramedics??Oh, right.Congrats buddy!!

  18. One full year of bloggery? Wow. Congratulations Mr. Mark! For this day, I'll give you a present:Gina says that you're the cute one in the Chronicles of EMS regular cast. Yes, honestly, that's the honest-to-goodness truth. Who woulda thunk she has a thing for goofy-lookin paramedics??Oh, right.Congrats buddy!!

  19. […] @UKMedic999: New blog post: My 1st Blogoversary! http://999medic.com/2009/12/29/my-1st-blogoversary/ […]

  20. […] Happy Blogiversary to you, 999 Medic and Kelly Grayson! (999 Medic) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

