Posted by: medicblog999 | December 24, 2009

A Christmas Wish!

santa-claus-clothing1

I have another post completed from my trip to SF and I was going to post that tonight, but it just didnt seem to fit in with Christmas Eve, so I will keep that for a couple of days time. Instead here is a little Christmas Thought

I should be at work tomorrow

However, one of my colleagues at work who`s kids are up and away now, offered to work my shift for me. Its things like that that remind me of some of the great people I work with.

So wether you are at work, doing what you do, protecting your community or tending to its sick and injured; or are at home with family and loved ones. My whole family and I send you all of the best wishes for this Christmas day and the new year to follow.

I feel very lucky to have found so many friends and colleagues this year. All because of blogging!!

I have just been lying in bed next to my little one as he goes off to sleep. We shared a story, a kiss goodnight, then he turned over and went straight to sleep (nice one Sandra, for telling him if he goes straight to sleep he will get an extra pressie off Santa!). I laid next to him for a while, because I always like to listen to him breath for a bit, then turned over and had a quick look at Twitter – to see more wonderful Christmas wishes and sentiments from across the world.

EMS in general could do alot worse than embrace social media whole heartedly. The people who I have met across the world are a constant source of inspiration for me.

Thank you for sharing my journey this year and I look forward to another amazing year in 2010!

Happy Christmas!!

Responses

  1. Have a wonderful and magical Christmas with your family!

  2. Have a wonderful and magical Christmas with your family!

  3. And a Happy Christmas to you and yours, Mark!

  4. And a Happy Christmas to you and yours, Mark!

  5. Christmas is great when the kids are little, innit!I've been on callout today – 3 calls. One I could do nothing – a lady in excriciating spinal pain that oramorph wasn't reaching. Well, it might have if she'd taken the full dose rather than half. I strongly advised the other half dose, but that wasn't doing much.Second one to a ?CVA. No indications of a stroke (FAST OK) but low SpO2 & PT vomiting. Got a call from Control whilst I was on that one – the truck ws a couple of minutes away and could I green up ASAP for another job (DIB) around the corner. Handed over and called back.PT was now “not breathing”. Got there; yes she was (Oh no she wasn't! Oh yes she was!!). SpO2 100%, pulse 112. Panic attack with hyperventillation. Talked her out of it (well, 90%) before the crew arrived. I'm getting better at this. I should be, with the practice I get.Felt like a spare part on Job 1, Job 2 I wasn't at for long enough, but Job 3 was most satisfying. I won't say it made my Christmas (that's tomorrow), but I felt I achieved something.Mind you, my professional colleagues had their work cut out with a pile-up on the M1.My seasonal felicitations to all, particularly those in the emergency services – and even more to those working over Christmas. At least I get to respond from home, and my kids have flit the nest.

  6. Christmas is great when the kids are little, innit!I've been on callout today – 3 calls. One I could do nothing – a lady in excriciating spinal pain that oramorph wasn't reaching. Well, it might have if she'd taken the full dose rather than half. I strongly advised the other half dose, but that wasn't doing much.Second one to a ?CVA. No indications of a stroke (FAST OK) but low SpO2 & PT vomiting. Got a call from Control whilst I was on that one – the truck ws a couple of minutes away and could I green up ASAP for another job (DIB) around the corner. Handed over and called back.PT was now “not breathing”. Got there; yes she was (Oh no she wasn't! Oh yes she was!!). SpO2 100%, pulse 112. Panic attack with hyperventillation. Talked her out of it (well, 90%) before the crew arrived. I'm getting better at this. I should be, with the practice I get.Felt like a spare part on Job 1, Job 2 I wasn't at for long enough, but Job 3 was most satisfying. I won't say it made my Christmas (that's tomorrow), but I felt I achieved something.Mind you, my professional colleagues had their work cut out with a pile-up on the M1.My seasonal felicitations to all, particularly those in the emergency services – and even more to those working over Christmas. At least I get to respond from home, and my kids have flit the nest.

  7. Christmas is great when the kids are little, innit!I've been on callout today – 3 calls. One I could do nothing – a lady in excriciating spinal pain that oramorph wasn't reaching. Well, it might have if she'd taken the full dose rather than half. I strongly advised the other half dose, but that wasn't doing much.Second one to a ?CVA. No indications of a stroke (FAST OK) but low SpO2 & PT vomiting. Got a call from Control whilst I was on that one – the truck ws a couple of minutes away and could I green up ASAP for another job (DIB) around the corner. Handed over and called back.PT was now “not breathing”. Got there; yes she was (Oh no she wasn't! Oh yes she was!!). SpO2 100%, pulse 112. Panic attack with hyperventillation. Talked her out of it (well, 90%) before the crew arrived. I'm getting better at this. I should be, with the practice I get.Felt like a spare part on Job 1, Job 2 I wasn't at for long enough, but Job 3 was most satisfying. I won't say it made my Christmas (that's tomorrow), but I felt I achieved something.Mind you, my professional colleagues had their work cut out with a pile-up on the M1.My seasonal felicitations to all, particularly those in the emergency services – and even more to those working over Christmas. At least I get to respond from home, and my kids have flit the nest.

  8. Christmas is great when the kids are little, innit!I've been on callout today – 3 calls. One I could do nothing – a lady in excriciating spinal pain that oramorph wasn't reaching. Well, it might have if she'd taken the full dose rather than half. I strongly advised the other half dose, but that wasn't doing much.Second one to a ?CVA. No indications of a stroke (FAST OK) but low SpO2 & PT vomiting. Got a call from Control whilst I was on that one – the truck ws a couple of minutes away and could I green up ASAP for another job (DIB) around the corner. Handed over and called back.PT was now “not breathing”. Got there; yes she was (Oh no she wasn't! Oh yes she was!!). SpO2 100%, pulse 112. Panic attack with hyperventillation. Talked her out of it (well, 90%) before the crew arrived. I'm getting better at this. I should be, with the practice I get.Felt like a spare part on Job 1, Job 2 I wasn't at for long enough, but Job 3 was most satisfying. I won't say it made my Christmas (that's tomorrow), but I felt I achieved something.Mind you, my professional colleagues had their work cut out with a pile-up on the M1.My seasonal felicitations to all, particularly those in the emergency services – and even more to those working over Christmas. At least I get to respond from home, and my kids have flit the nest.

  9. […] @UKMedic999: New blog post: A Christmas Wish! http://999medic.com/2009/12/24/a-christmas-wish/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

