Posted by: medicblog999 | December 21, 2009

The Chronicles of EMS Effect!

IMGP1526compressed

Chief Wong and I

So, this time yesterday morning, I did my normal morning routine of waking up and checking the emails on my iphone.

Waiting for me in my inbox was  a notification of a message sent to my facebook account from Chief Seb Wong of the San Francisco Fire Department. The very same man mentioned in my last post, who took Justin and I out for steak, and had a great conversation with me about upcoming potential developments for the SFFD.

I wanted to share his email with you all, as it shows exactly what we hoped we would be able to achieve with ‘The Chronicles of EMS’. It was a fab way to wake up and gave me a real buzz!

I have gained permission from Chief Wong to reproduce his email, so without further ado, here it is :

“Mark,

I hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas and Happy, Prosperous New Year.  It was a privilege and a pleasure to have met you.

By the way, I wasn’t just being nice; your point had a lot of merit and it reminded me to look at another side of the issue.  When one leaves the field and enters management, one of the greatest sins is to forget the view of the worker and the patient.  Being consumed with financial and policy issues causes some of us to forget sometimes.

The worse mistake is to not listen to other perspectives and think that your way is the only right path.

Thank you for sharing an alternative and remember, a fellow paramedic from across the pond helped another paramedic see a better way!

Seb”

Now, tell me that isnt one of the coolest things to come out of CoEMS so far??

(Plus, can you imagine where this profession could go if we all had a Chief with an out look like Chief Wong)

Thanks Chief, that email means alot to me and those of us involved in our little Project.

Responses

  1. It is very cool. You guys have really done something here. It's up to the future to see where it goes, but it's sure been a good ride so far. Here's wishing for the sky!I had the pleasure of meeting Chief Wong at the Tweetup whilst in San Francisco. My wife and had a good conversation with him and had a few drinks with him before we were formally introduced. I can't imagine someone in his position from another city not standing on formality. It seemed to us like he was just another one of the medics having a good time and talking about EMS with the guys. It was a real pleasure to meet up with him. The honor and privledge were all ours.

  2. Wow Mark !!!

  3. Wow Mark !!!

  4. Chief Wong is a rare breed in this business where there is usually only one way to do something…”my” way. My Paramedic instructor, Jeff Reynolds, once told me that emergency medicine is not a science; there are no absolutes. But, it is an art and each person must develop their own style and make it work within prescribed peramiters.I am so pleased that the impact of CoEMS has had immediate effects!

  5. Chief Wong is a rare breed in this business where there is usually only one way to do something…”my” way. My Paramedic instructor, Jeff Reynolds, once told me that emergency medicine is not a science; there are no absolutes. But, it is an art and each person must develop their own style and make it work within prescribed peramiters.I am so pleased that the impact of CoEMS has had immediate effects!

  6. Chief Wong is a rare breed in this business where there is usually only one way to do something…”my” way. My Paramedic instructor, Jeff Reynolds, once told me that emergency medicine is not a science; there are no absolutes. But, it is an art and each person must develop their own style and make it work within prescribed peramiters.I am so pleased that the impact of CoEMS has had immediate effects!

  7. Chief Wong is a rare breed in this business where there is usually only one way to do something…”my” way. My Paramedic instructor, Jeff Reynolds, once told me that emergency medicine is not a science; there are no absolutes. But, it is an art and each person must develop their own style and make it work within prescribed peramiters.I am so pleased that the impact of CoEMS has had immediate effects!

  8. […] In case you don’t remember, I mentioned Chief Wong when I was writing about my time in San Francisco. If not, you can read that post here. […]

  9. […] In case you don’t remember, I mentioned Chief Wong when I was writing about my time in San Francisco. If not, you can read that post here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

