Posted by: medicblog999 | November 19, 2009

He`s Here!!

CoEMSWell, the second part of ‘The Project’ has begun.

Justin arrived into Newcastle at 4.10pm and was greeted by a beautiful autumn day in the North East of England (Windy, and cold!). We quickly got him sorted into his hotel then he came up to the house to have his dinner and meet the family.

It really does seem that we have known each other for a hell of alot longer than one week (although we have been emailing for over 9 months), and I am already wondering how I am going to feel when all of this is over next Thursday and we say our goodbyes.

But, back to the present day….. We start our first shift on my Rapid Response car at 0600 tomorrow. I cant wait to show him the way we do things over here, and I am keen to see and hear his opinions of our ‘front loaded model’ utilising paramedics in cars back up by ambulances when appropriate. From my experiences in San Francisco, I know that he is used to having an ambulance pretty much on scene within minutes when he is working on the engine, and I am eager to see what he thinks when I have to wait on scene after requesting one.

There is going to be much to share with you all. Both Justin and I are commited to keeping up the updates, blogs, videos and behind the scenes stuff that you are used to seeing after last week. Of course it isnt going to be quite the same without Ted and Chris, but hey, lets just make the most of it and see what we all can learn from this.

Keep an eye on all of the links for Chronicles of EMS on Facebook and Twitter (#CoEMS) and make sure you look to Justins Blog as well as our You Tube channel and Flickr accounts for very regular updates throughout the days.

Better get some sleep for tomorrow.

See you all soon.

Responses

  1. Hey Mark 🙂 Can't wait to read more! I know so many people who have been following along with great interest. Be safe out there.

  2. Keep up the awesome work!! you guys rock!!!!

  3. You boys have a good time in the coming week. we'll be looking for your reports when you can spare the time. HM, I am interested to hear exactly ho the tiered response works over there. I have the basics from reading Mark's blog over the past year or so, but you will probaly ask the questions I would ask, so please share the details. The daily updates are great, but we all know the real meat will come after you have time to process it all. Thanks for sharing this experience.Be well, Be safe, have fun,Capt. Tom

  4. I can't wait to see the updates from the trip. I have just started keeping up with you guys this week. I wish I had been turned on to Blogs before now. I have a lot of catching up still but I am eager to see the results of this project.

  5. Mark, tell Justin that he missed a fire. http://www.ktvu.com/news/21669282/detail.html

  6. Hi Mark, something a bit off-topic but may be interesting.At the moment, in about half the calls I attend, the patients seem to have some psych problem, particularly some of my “regulars”. In about 1 in 3, there also seem to be social issues that need dealing with. (I'm still trying to get the smell of dog p*ss out of my nostrils from one this afternoon.) Obviously, there's a lot of overlap between the two categories.Do you find the same thing? What about Justin?

  7. Hi Mark, something a bit off-topic but may be interesting.At the moment, in about half the calls I attend, the patients seem to have some psych problem, particularly some of my “regulars”. In about 1 in 3, there also seem to be social issues that need dealing with. (I'm still trying to get the smell of dog p*ss out of my nostrils from one this afternoon.) Obviously, there's a lot of overlap between the two categories.Do you find the same thing? What about Justin?

  8. Hi Mark, something a bit off-topic but may be interesting.At the moment, in about half the calls I attend, the patients seem to have some psych problem, particularly some of my “regulars”. In about 1 in 3, there also seem to be social issues that need dealing with. (I'm still trying to get the smell of dog p*ss out of my nostrils from one this afternoon.) Obviously, there's a lot of overlap between the two categories.Do you find the same thing? What about Justin?


Leave a Reply

Categories

