Posted by: medicblog999 | November 3, 2009

The POWER of the EMS Blog!!!

super-heroToday has been a good day.

Today I have made a difference.

Today, the difference I made in a patients treatment, and life, came from reading blogs……

I am not going to go into details as it would be identifiable because I have said it is today and there isn’t that many of these cases that would have happened in my region today, at least with that specific diagnosis, but what I can say is that I was looking after a cardiac patient who had some ‘suspicious’ findings on his 12 lead ECG. This lead me to do further investigations which I have learned through reading and learning some new tricks from Toms blog at ‘Prehospital 12 Lead ECG’, and which I have discussed with another of my Blog Buddies, Chris Kaiser, over at Life under the Lights.

As many of you know, I am an ECG Geek myself, but what Tom and others have taught me, is that there is far more knowledgeable people than me out there who are willing to share their knowledge and guidance for free through the wonderful medium of blogging.

With the knowledge I have gained directly from Tom’s blog, I made an alternative diagnosis for the patient (above what would be expected from a paramedic) and he ended up in a different hospital than the one that was originally planned, getting definitive treatment within 40 minutes instead of being at a different hospital being stabalised.

I feel really good about it. The Doctors and nurses all gave me the ‘good catch’ speech, but really, the credit goes to Tom and my blogger friends around the world.

I have found reading all of the 109 blogs that I subscribe to a real eye opener. I don’t have time to read ‘normal books’ anymore, because I spend my free time reading all of the blogs out there, learning some new thinks, reflecting on some older habits and generally sharing in the experiences of my colleagues around the world.

Does this class as a first ‘save’ for an EMS Blog I wonder?

Responses

  1. Congrats! Mike

  2. I agree that Tom's got a good blog over there (as do you). Good job on the catch.

  3. Outstanding catch.What is clear from your post is your enthusiasm, and commitment to your profession, which is very good news for your customer base. It is good to see people taking extraordinary measures to perfect their craft.Tom

  4. Great job, Mark. I'm looking forward to hearing about The Project,” it's been a long time coming. I don't know if a skill I picked up from other blogs ever made a difference to my patients, but I know for certain I have been inspired by what I've read out there and it has given me a second wind. I'm an old timer by EMS standards, eighteen years and counting, so every little bit helps!Oh, and read a book every now and then will ya! I know a good one you might want to buy when you're here, Rescuing Providence!

  5. Very cool, Mark! Thanks for letting me know. I can't wait to hear all about your trip to SF! I already subscribed to the YouTube channel.Tom

  6. Very cool, Mark! Thanks for letting me know. I can't wait to hear all about your trip to SF! I already subscribed to the YouTube channel.Tom

  7. Very cool, Mark! Thanks for letting me know. I can't wait to hear all about your trip to SF! I already subscribed to the YouTube channel.Tom


Leave a Reply

Categories

