Posted by: medicblog999 | October 24, 2009

A Gladiator on the Ambulance!!

Amazon_Lava_019

Zoe as 'Amazon'

So I turn up for work tonight knowing that I have a film crew coming out with me for the night. They are doing some filming for a pilot for an upcoming TV series on Sky TV which will take a doctor to various hotspots around the world to look at ‘extreme’ emergency cases.

They are looking at going to Los Angeles, Rio Di Janeiro, Iraq, Glasgow (UK), and Johannesburg.

So were best to get there pilot episode footage that Gateshead and Newcastle!!

The weirdest thing though, was to be met by the doctor, Zoe, who is doing the presenting, who just so happened to be ‘Amazon’ from the last 2 series of the UK version of ‘Gladiators’!

Zoe had decided to leave the costume at home for the night for some reason, and instead put on one of our wonderful Ambulance Tabards, and off we went. The director was hoping to get some trauma, alcohol, stabbing and shooting type jobs, and true to form, we provided them with lots of alcohol related jobs, but no real trauma. However, it still gave them the chance to see Zoe doing some of her commenting on the patients that we were looking after and putting in her medical opinions regarding what we were doing and how the patients were presenting to us.

They all went at 03:00 (which is now 02:00 – thanks for that GMT! why is it I always land the 13 hour shift when the clocks go back!) after getting to film about 5 or 6 patients. They will now go away and put together a 5 -10 minute film showcasing what they are hoping to achieve in the full series when they travel around the world next year.

I tried to suggest that as well as having a doctor to comment on what was going on, they really needed a Paramedic, to look at the pre-hospital side of things, and I would be more than happy to come along with them. I was given a polite giggle, which I guess meant “no chance mate!”

Oh well, at least I got the opportunity to pitch the trip to San Francisco and Happy Medics trip over to the UK to them, which they seemed interested in, and will look into doing something next year possibly (fingers crossed!) 

I will be getting a copy of the short film, and if they allow me, I will share it with you. Either way, I hope Zoe and the team get their chance to film the series, it would make some interesting viewing!

Another fun night at work!!

The real Zoe

The real Zoe

Responses

  1. You get all the rough jobs Mark!!

  2. Hey now, don't be so quick to toot your own horn. I was up at the WalMart today and Lurleen, the girl who hands out them coupons for the Cheez Curls, asked if she could ride with me. I have to check the weight limit on the ambulance and see if we can carry her. So there!

  3. Wish my GP was as fit as Zoe!

  4. You get all the rough jobs Mark!!

  5. Hey now, don't be so quick to toot your own horn. I was up at the WalMart today and Lurleen, the girl who hands out them coupons for the Cheez Curls, asked if she could ride with me. I have to check the weight limit on the ambulance and see if we can carry her. So there!

  6. Wish my GP was as fit as Zoe!


Leave a Reply

Categories

