Posted by: medicblog999 | September 22, 2009

Learn to speak ‘Geordie’

tyne_bridge_300x400Ive been noticing some visitors coming my way from RehabRN, who posted a link to my addition of Change of Shift.

Underneath the link, he then goes on to say:

“BTW if you want to know what a Geordie is, head on over here

Click on the link and it takes you to the Wikipedia entry for Geordie. Have a scroll down and look at some of the examples of some of my wonderful regional sayings. To be honest, I didnt think I was that broad a Geordie until I noticed that I use a whole lot of the words.

Some of them even made me laugh when you see them wrote down phonetically on the page.

(Get studying Happy Medic!!)

Responses

  1. That’s almost as interesting as Cockney rhyming slang! šŸ™‚

  2. Interesting …. Several of those words I use on a daily biases, maybe because I am a first generation Canadian and I heard those words grown up, because my family in from England.

    It is interesting to see a dialect is pasted from one generation to another.

  3. Its surprising how normal the words are in newcastle – so much fun playing with the southern freshers who dont have a clue what you saying eventho im not even from Newcastle im from Durham. Love the pic aswell

  4. I notice that many of the verbal constructs are common to much of northern England, as far south ass the northern half of Derbyshire.

    Contracting “in” to “i” is very common, and I’ve heard this in Durham. Similarly there is a very fine old pub in Derbyshire that rejoices in the name of the “Bull i th thorn”. (Bull in the thorns in “standard” English; the “th” on its own is silent.)

    However, the accent in the North East is somewhat more “sing-song” than that in the rest of the north. It may be a somewhat gutteral tune, but it’s more tuneful than the Lancashite & Yorkshire accents.

    Haway mi marras!

  5. I love the geordie accent, two friends of mine are die hard geordie fans and I have been with them to St James’s Park on a few occassions. I am fine with them when they are relaxed but when they get excited I CANNY understand them like!

  6. Shame I didn’t take some time to learn a bit more of the local accent before the Great North Run. It was embarassing having to keep asking the ambulance despatcher to spell out road names, but I noticed even local crews were having problems so perhaps she had a particularly strong accent

  7. Medic,

    Thanks for the link. I just found it interesting in your subtitle, since I’m a non-Brit (only a little in the family tree–around Sheffield, I think) and I had never seen anything on Geordies at all.

    BTW I thought of linguistics as a career. I come from a family with an interesting heritage (think most of Western Europe) so I thought it would be fun to see where all those sayings, phonetics, etc. came from and get paid for it. Boy, that would be the life!

    Anyway, thanks again. I enjoy reading your stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

