Posted by: medicblog999 | September 12, 2009

Never Forgotten? But I just did!!

Its been bothering me since I realised it last night.

As I have said in the past, I read ALOT of blogs. Many of the EMS ones have mentioned all the agencies that lost people on that day 8 years ago. It bothers me a little that all of the general medical/Dr blogs I read neglected to mention the anniversary, but maybe that is being judgemental of me and they have remembered in their own private way, and thats fine.

But when I was remembering and thinking of those EMS/Firefighters that lost their lives, I ‘forgot’ to remember those Police, Port Authority, passengers, civilians, Pentagon staff, Airline pilots and stewards etc etc, who were taken too.

And that felt wrong..And I apologise for only seeing the people I have an immediate bond with.

Im sure this sounds a little odd, but when I feel as though I have done something wrong I like to make a point of putting it right.

In Memory of :

ny_port_authority_9-11

The New York/New Jersey Port authority Staff.

NYPD 9-11 pin

The New York Police Department

united-in-memory

Those who died in the Pentagon attack

wtc-3d2

The civilians and workers in the Towers and on the Ground

33

All those in the planes that day

usa_uk_flag1

Responses

  1. I guess you could call PH12ECG a “general medical” blog, or at least a highly specific and somewhat technical blog.

    I certainly haven’t forgotten the people who died on 9/11, nor have I forgotten the men who died in places like Tora Bora, Shahikot valley, and Kunar province.

    I think about it all the time.

    I didn’t post anything on my blog because some things are just ineffable, at least to me.

    Tom

  2. I don’t work for the other disciplines, nor am I anywhere near NYC… but I have to say that I was just happy to see a British blogger taking the time to remember.

    I’d guess that a lot of people would feel the same way.

  3. Not at all. I just felt compelled to explain, because I’m sometimes horrified by how the war in Iraq and Afghanistan has become something people occasionally see on TV, but otherwise it doesn’t seem to effect them at all (except when they’re complaining about George W. Bush). Maybe I didn’t post anything because I don’t want to be one of those people who pay lip service to the victims of 9/11 on the anniversary of the tragedy, but otherwise lack the resolve to take the war to our enemies. Having said that, I completely agree with Ckemtp that it’s nice to see a British blogger taking the time to remember who took the first punch in this unpopular war.

    Tom


Leave a Reply

Categories

