Posted by: medicblog999 | September 11, 2009

Let the adrenaline flow!

Rusted_Farm_Machinery_TwoFirstly,thanks for the great discussion going on in the comments of the last post, the poll is turning out to be really interesting too!!

Ill post what I did and my rationale tomorrow, I just want to give all a little more time to comment and vote before I put my two penneth in.

So, just a really quick post to share one thing……how to change me from relaxed and sitting in the passenger side of the ambulance, to full on adrenaline flowing mode, and going through guidelines in my head in the space of 10 seconds.

The mobile data terminal in the cab starts squealing its siren tone at us again. On the screen is one line that makes me sit up and say ‘Oh S”&t’!!

” Child (6yr) stuck in farm machinery”

On comes the inevitable red mist as we head to the job.

So many different scenarios running through my head:

  1. Will he be dead?
  2. What is the joules setting for defibrillation of a 6 year old?
  3. This could be horrible
  4. Is he going to be scalped?
  5. Is he going to be crushed?
  6. Is there going to be a limb amputated?
  7. Are the fire brigade already travelling – I hope so!!
  8. Better take everything to the patient
  9. Check the guidelines for cardiac arrest dosages for a 6 yr old

We arrive on scene a matter of minutes later, no one to meet us initially, but then we are shown to the correct location by a bystander.

Fully loaded with equipment, adrenaline coursing through my veins, ready for whatever I am about to see and have to deal with.

Get our guide to hurry up a bit!

“Whats happened?” I ask whilst we are hurriedly walking to the patient.

“Dont know mate, I just know there is alot of commotion going on”

Come on…..hurry up…….walk a bit faster…….

We round the corner…

A group of people looking on…

“It’s over there”

We are shown into a large barn full of equipment and machines I have no idea about, I scan around for the patient…..

Brace yourself, this isnt going to be nice, I tell myself ,as I reach the crowd of people

Nothing!!

“Wheres the patient?”

“Oh, hes okay, he is over there!”

I look over to see a small boy being hugged by his father, fully conscious, alert, and doesnt appear to be injured.

Thank god for that!

I know that I can deal with whatever I am presented with. I have realised that over the last 9 years.

Sometimes though,  it is the anticipation that is worse than the job itself.

Adrenaline starting to ease away now

Responses

  1. After a while you get used to it. Usually the more dramatic a call sounds, the less real it is.

    “More drama than trauma” is what we call it.

  2. We recently had a 13 year old girl with her leg caught in a rototiller. She was fully conscious and her leg was wrapped around the center shaft of the machine 4 or 5 times. It looked like a rubber band. We had to put her under, cut the machine apart, and then take her, along with the center part of the machine to the hospital. There we helped the doctor unwrap her leg. Nurses were lunging for garbage bins and the doctor was green. She lost her leg and is now waiting for a prosthetic limb. Those calls are often “false alarms”, we see it a lot in our rural community. But when it’s real, it’s usually a gooder.


Leave a Reply

Categories

