Posted by: medicblog999 | September 2, 2009

Taking a Bite!

I wrote a post last month called ENOUGH is ENOUGH, about when a patient overstepped the line when he tried to take a bite out of me.

I have just seen one of my friends in A&E getting a tetanus due to an incident when he wasnt as lucky as I was:

Bite

OUCH!!!

He said the patient managed to keep his teeth clenched on for about 5 seconds before he managed to ‘effect a release’ from his jaws. In this case however, the patient didn’t do it with malice, but more down to the result of a medical condition.

It still doesnt make it hurt any less though.

(picture taken and published with permission)

Responses

  1. OUCH!!!
    I had someone in a diabetic hypo try and bite me once. Luckily I seen it coming a mile off so managed to avoid it. It was pretty funny when I think about it, he actually reared his head to get a better shot at me!

  2. I’ve just come off a nightshift, nearly 3 hours late due to one of my patients injuring me. I now can’t work for at least 5 days until everything settles down. I think we need compensation for all we healthcare workers put up with!


Leave a Reply

Categories

