Posted by: medicblog999 | August 19, 2009

Blogger Burnout!

burning-computer2Mrs 999 would definitely agree with what I am about to write….

One of my greatest failings is that when I get in to something new, I get all enveloped in it. I spend more time than is required doing it and I neglect other things, to concentrate on my new ‘fad’.

I think this blog has gone well beyond being a fad now. It has been running for 8 months and I have wrote 204 posts. I love sharing my experiences with you all, but I think I am going to have to slow down just a ‘tad’.

I have read on other blogs in the past, where bloggers have closed them down when it began to feel like a job rather than a hobby or pastime. For me, it doesn’t feel like a job yet, but I do sometimes catch myself thinking that I must get a post up tonight, and then actively thinking of something to share with you all.

I don’t think that’s how it should be. For one, if I continue blogging daily, I’m going to loose the spontaneity that I hope comes across in my writing, but more importantly, I never want it to become a chore, and I never want it to come before my family life as that would be just plain wrong!

So, all I am saying is that I may well post a little less from now on. That probably only means 3 or 4 posts per week instead of 7 or 8.  I love what I do here, I find it hugely therapeutic and I love interacting with you all (and making new friends all the time). I have so much more to share, but I think I will just take my time with it all.

Hope you all understand.

Responses

  1. I’m back!

  2. Makes perfect sense. Good that you see this now. And as great as your posts are, we’ll still be back even if it’s a tad less….

  3. Mark we will still be here. As hard as it will be I’m sure we will all pull through. Take care of you and your own first.

  4. I, for one, think it’s a travesty. Who am I going to look to to steal ideas from? Who am I going to link to when I can’t think of anything to put up on my blog? Who am I going to read to occupy my time on shift?

    Well, you… still if you promise that you’ll be back.
    Honestly, I think that my wife might say the same as yours.

  5. Mark,
    I’m feeling the same funk. We’ll all get through it.

  6. It does get a bit much sometimes, but in the end I’m sure you will find the pace that works for you. I think I’ve given up twice now, only to crawl back in.

    Good luck, we won’t let you go too far!


Leave a Reply

Categories

