Posted by: medicblog999 | April 21, 2009

Lets try something new!!

peopleIve had an idea milling around in my mind for a little while, and its all about getting you lot involved in my blog.

I know that before I started my own blog, as I was reading the others that I subscribe too, I used to think

“I could write a great story about that one”

This got me to thinking.

How about you lot putting your stories on my blog too?

My idea is this, if you have any stories that you would like to share with my readers around the world, email them to me at the email in the “contact me” tab at the top of the page. I will read all that come in and will publish them without editing them or changing any details (the only proviso I put on this is that they conform to best practices in making them annonymous and unidentifiable – the easiest way to do this is to change the sex, age and date of the incident. Its amazing what details you can change to make something annonymous but still keep the heart of the story). The only things I will not publish on my blog are those that I believe could identify a patient even though the details have been changed, for instance in cases where the subject matter or the case in question is so unique that people would pretty much be able to say what happened or who it was actually concerning.

The only other thing I will ask is that they fit with the theme of my blog i.e. I am not here to be negative about any service, I am not here to talk about management issues or controversial topics. My blog is intended to share my love for the job, what I get out of it and why I feel it is the best occupation in the world. You dont have to be a paramedic or EMT to submit any posts, but it does need to have something to do with emergency care and or prehospital care. Stories are also welcome from patients and families who have had experiences of the emergency services.

I will plan on keeping the saturdays and sundays free for your stories. You can identify yourself, use an alias or be annonymous. Comments will be left on and all comments will be published.

I will accept your posts from now and will post the first couple this weekend (if I get any in!!). If I get enough, I will stop accepting posts until I start to run short on ones that have already been sent in.

So, this is your chance to be heard. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Lets see how it goes. If I get loads in, there is always the option of setting up another blog which I will administer, but will only be populated by your stories, tales and thoughts.

Exciting times!

Im looking forward to reading your tales.

Please feel free to let me know if you think this is a good idea or a bit of a non-runner.

Responses

  1. Well, I once did a shift observing with a Team Leader ……………………..

  2. Great idea, get more people writing! I bet you have readers thinking of starting their own blog and need this little push to get going. All the best.

  3. […] profession on the other side, both good and bad. If you want more details about sending a post in, click here for the original […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

