Posted by: medicblog999 | March 23, 2009

Why Blog?

champagne_toast

I have hit another little milestone today.

10,000 hits! I know its not a huge number for alot of bloggers out there, but I have only been going nearly 3 months, and I would never have imagined that I would be telling my stories and so many of you would be reading.

Its given me the opportunity to quickly reflect on my very early blogging venture, and I have asked myself is it worth the time that I put into it?

What have I got out of it so far?

  1. I find it very odd that I am on first name terms with many of the bloggers out there that I have been reading and admiring for the last 2 years.
  2. I feel part of a much larger and altoghether closer group of EMS professionals who all seem to have the same level of passion for what we do and what we get from helping other people.
  3. I feel privileged that I have been able to share some very personal stories with you all, and it gives me a strange sense of calm in sharing some of the tragic things that I have witnessed during my time with the North East Ambulance Service
  4. It really is like a cheap form of counselling!
  5. It has provided me with a focus to my reflective practice. I now think even more about the jobs that I attend. Did I do everything that I could? would I do any different? etc etc
  6. It is opening up doors that I never even knew existed
  7. It has caused a few minor disagreements with Mrs Medic999 – “Will you get off that bloody blog!!!”
  8. But best of all – It is giving me the opportunity (hopefully!!) to embark on a project that is something that I have always wanted to do and may well come to fruition next year. I cant say any more than that, but in a quote from my co-conspirator:

             “Is this not the best idea ever!!!!!”

I will let you all into the plans as soon as it all receives the green light, but to say I am excited is an understatement.

So, all I really wanted to say was THANK YOU for reading.

Responses

  1. Great job! 10,000 hits in three months is rather impressive.

    I too had some “minor” disagreements with the Mrs. over time spent blogging. It can become addictive if you get carried away. Be careful or all the fun goes away.

  2. Addictive blogging is free, ’nuff said.

    You keep writing 999, I’ll keep reading.

    HM

  3. That is impresive! I’ve only had over 8000 and I started mine back in August 08, boo hoo. I put it down to your blog being interesting. Where as mine is just really a diary and not much else. I don’t spend an awful lot of time on mine and like you say it could used as a form of counselling or useful for CPD etc. Keep up the good work friend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

