Posted by: medicblog999 | March 1, 2009

The simple pleasures

stock_old-people-handsIn my very first welcome post, I mentioned how I intended to share the pleasure I get from doing this job and caring for people.

A job I had the other day reminded me of why being a paramedic is a vocation more than just a job.

96 year old female (I will call her Emily), fall at home, pain in hip (maybe both hips, and knees and thumb and, and, and……..you get the picture?) Fully conscious, alert and orientated and as deaf as a post!! Try as I might, I couldn’t get through to her verbally so resorted to writing everything down,  which worked.

Emily was wonderful, everything I did got a “Thank You!”. She was so sweet. She was definitely one for the ‘adopt-a-granny’ status. i.e. those elderly ladies who you just wish were your grandparents (or in this case great grandparents – I’m not that old you know!!)
After a full assessment, there didn’t seem any significant injuries, however she was still unsteady on her feet which is new for her (at 96!!!), so I called for a category C ambulance to transport her to hospital for further assessment.

When I am working on rapid response, if I call for a Cat C vehicle, it means they don’t have to come on blues and twos. It also means that if I am happy with the patient and there is someone to care for them till the vehicle arrives then I can leave scene and go on to the next job. However, I was really enjoying being in Emily`s company and there was only a warden available who had other residents to check on so I decided to wait. I made her a cup of tea and sat down to have a (written) chat. Out came the photos, they were amazing!! God, she was glamorous during the war!

She told me all about the war years and how she met her husband and I got a good description of most of her life. I was actually a little disappointed when the crew came to take over and transport her to A&E. We said our goodbyes and I cleared with control and got sent on standby.

Whilst I was sitting waiting for the next job to come in, I reflected on my encounter with Emily. It really was a pleasurable 50mins, and she was a lady that I would have never met, were in not for me being in this job. There are some many elderly people out there with so many stories to tell, I feel it is a real honour and a privilege to be allowed into these peoples lives and share in their life experiences.

I hope Emily does okay and gets back out of hospital. I hope she remains well for as long as possible, but if she needs our services again one day, I hope I am on shift!

Responses

  1. Love the story, and the name you chose. The Emily I wrote about in the Blog Carnival is the only person I ever wrote about whose name I didn’t change. I have no idea why, I just couldn’t.

  2. Isn’t it awesome we are given those gifts of insight into our patients lives. They are blessings to both the patient and the medic caring for them.
    Great Post.

  3. […] Another decent blogger added an interesting post today on The simple pleasures Medicblog999Here’s a small readingThere are some many elderly people out there with so many stories to tell, I feel it is a real honour and a privilege to be allowed into these peoples lives and share in their life experiences. … The Emily I wrote about in the Blog Carnival is the only person I ever wrote about whose name I didn’t change. I have no idea why, I just couldn’t. JoeEMT799. March 2, 2009 at 2:23 am. Isn’t it awesome we are given those gifts of insight into our patients lives. … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

