Posted by: medicblog999 | January 23, 2009

Your not going to die – not on my shift!!

greys-anatomy

This may be a British thing and if it is, I apologise if I offend any of my American readers.

Have you every been watching a TV medical drama show and silently cringed to yourself when you hear a paramedic, doctor or nurse say something that you think you would never in a month of Sundays actually come out with? Dont get me wrong, I loooove E.R and Greys Anatomy and have watched every one from episode 1.

er-season-121

I was thinking about this the other day and started trying to think of what I have heard and what I would say in its place in real life. Lets have a look and discuss further…

“STAT”

I know this means quick, or straight away, but what does it actually mean?What is the full length word that it is derived from? If I need something quickly, I say 

“quick, pass me the…..” or “just give it quickly”

I know it doesn’t sound quite so exciting, but I think I would get laughed out my local A&Es if I went in and handed over a patient saying that I had given him 50mg Furosemide, Stat!

Were Losing Him!

This is an easy one. I normally use words full of profanity in place of this, all of which I cannot repeat here just in case my mam every reads my blog, but im sure I can leave it up to your imagination.

“I am not going to let you die!”

This is normally said in a loud voice, accompanied by a stirring soundtrack and  jumping up and down on someones chest whilst wiping tears away from your eyes. In reality, at this point I am usually a little bit too busy for the amateur dramatics stuff and am just concentrating on actually trying to not “let him die”

“Im going in”

Replace this sentance with…

“Requesting Police (or Fire & Rescue) to attend scene, standing back until their arrival”

Safety first people! However, I have never been in a situation where I have had to consider doing something that may potentially endanger my own life to save someone elses. I really dont know what I would do, and guess I will have to find out when or if it ever happens. I will let you know when it happens (if I survive).

“Just another day saving lives”

Now this is one that I actually do say, but it is said with my tongue firmly in my cheek. It would be nice to have another day saving lives. I would settle for one every now and then, but truth be told we are lucky to get a day with more than a couple of cases which actually require ambulance attendance, never mind life saving interventions.

 

Do you have any other phrases that make you cringe?

Let me know.

Responses

  1. I’m the same when it comes to hearing these phrases. From my experiences in America I can honestly tell you that none of guys I met (and went on ride a longs with) said any thing so corny like STAT etc. Nice blog by the way. I’ve added yours to my fav list.
    Take care mate.

  2. I have said “I’m going in” but it is always as a joke. You pretty much hit all of my favorite one liners. The other thing I love to watch is House. He is cranky and says all the things I wish I could say. It also entertains me that they tube and shock every patient they have. Imagine if you had to do that to every patient you saw. makes me laugh.

    • I always shout out when I see them shocking asystole. It happens so often that you would think the medical advisors would keep them right, but maybe that’s just me being an anorak. It’s normally also accompanied by all of the sayings in quick succession:
      Were losing him,
      Adrenaline, Stat!
      Your not going to die, not on my shift!
      Crack his chest, Im going in!
      Just another day, saving lives.
      Just another normal shift in the life of a North East Ambulance Service Paramedic!

  3. STAT: Medical term used to imply urgent or rush. It may appear in lower case letters as stat or in capital letters as STAT, as in “Treatment may include STAT surgery.” The term is derived from the Latin word “statim” which means immediately.

    I always assumed it was an acronym, apparently it is not.

    Love the blog, and am reading it in chronological order… 🙂

  4. Hi, just come accross your blog and I am finding it very interesting. I cringe when I hear the phrase ‘they are a bit tachy’ when we are doing patient handovers. I almost feel I have to explain to the patient we are referring to their heart rate and not making a comment on them being the epitome of tastelessness!!

  5. Have you considered the speed and accuracy of the interventions they perform. They are flawless at intubations. Tube in one hand and laryngascope in the other, no suctioning required and BOOM their in. 4 seconds flat. At no time did i see them inflate the cuff or check for epigastric and lung sounds. Perfect tubes everytime.


Leave a Reply

Categories

