Posted by: medicblog999 | January 18, 2009

Dom the Bomb!

I have looked back over the last seven posts, and feel that I need a nice positive funny one to offset the “deep and meaningful” stories so far.

A couple of years ago, we lost one of the most loved ambulance technicians I have ever known. He was universally liked, and staff at our station, myself included, used to try and swap around their shifts to make sure that they got to work with him. He died suddenly and tragically from an anaphylactic reaction to shell fish a few years ago. It may sound cliche, but the station has never felt quite the same since he passed, and there is a large void where he used to be.

I thought it might be nice to share with you some of the moments that Dom and I had whilst we were working toghether. They were some of the happiest times of my career and I still think back to them with a smile on my face.

New Years Eve 2001:

Dom and I are dispatched to a man complaining of abdominal pain in a large block of flats in our city centre area. Sounds like a relatively normal run of the mill job! We arrive at the location and Dom goes ahead whilst I get the carry chair out. I follow him up the stairs (trying to get fit!) and arrive at the patients flat about 1 minute after him.

I enter into the flat to see Dom facing back out towards the door, he has a look of sheer disbelief on his face along with a slight grin, then within a couple of seconds his famous giggle starts. Now, when you worked with Dom there was a regular chance that there may be an outbreak of the giggles. Not just a little snigger, but the kind of giggle fit that you used to get at school when you knew you were going to get into trouble off the teacher!

 I looked over his shoulder to see a man, approximately 55yrs old, standing naked in his front room, diarrhoea running down his legs, wearing a santa hat!!

I glanced from the patient, to Dom, then back to the patient. I quickly told Dom that I had forgotten something from the Ambulance, walked outside of the door and collapsed in hysterics. Of course, being the professionals that we were, Dom remained with the patient until I could compose myself, then we worked together to get the gentleman cleaned up, dressed and whisked him off to hospital to see the New Year in.

A busy Saturday day shift :

We were travelling to an emergency, with blue lights and sirens, when all of a sudden the sirens fail. Looking at each other, we decide if we should inform control that we could not continue?, or should we just carry on without the sirens?…..or should we make our own siren noises using the PA system on the vehicle?

What followed was the most surreal 2 minutes of my ambulance career. Travelling down the A1 with Dom on the mic, using the intercom through the loudhailer on the front of our Chevy G30 ambulance making his own “nee-naw”, “yelp” and “wail” noises. With tears running down our faces from laughing so much, we arrived at the patients house, within our 8 minutes!

Woman in Labour! :

We are sent to a woman, 32 weeks pregnant, wanting to push. Dom and I arrive at the house and go in to assess the patient. We see a woman puffing and panting and obviously wanting to push this baby out. Usually we would just prepare to deliver the baby in the house in this sort of situation, but as baby was a bit early, we thought it best to try and get her to hospital as it was likely that baby would need some help when born.

We moved her to the ambulance, and placed her on the stretcher, covering her with a blanket. I asked her permission to have a look “down below” to check if anything was imminent! What happened next was later described to me as an “explosive rupture of membranes”. This is where the amniotic sac ruptures with such force that the fluid literally gushes out under pressure. If you can imagine for a moment, my position when this happened i.e. bent over, at the bottom of the stretcher, directly in the firing line! Dom had been putting away the carry chair using the outside door to the cupboard when he heard my shout of surprise and came running to the side door. At this point , I was now standing up against the back door of the vehicle with amniotic fluid dripping off my head, face and chest. I looked towards Dom…..we made eye contact……he turned around….stepped down the two steps of the side door to the ambulance and disappeared out of site for about 30 seconds. He came back in with tears in his eyes, shoulders shaking up and down with his barely contained laughter and took a piece of paper towel and handed it to me, just saying,

“there you go mate”

The patient was taken to hospital where she delivered baby shortly afterwards and the last we heard was that mother and baby were doing very well.

I hope this post has come out as intended. I hope it brings a smile to your face as it has done to me sitting here writing it. It says alot about a man when we all still sit around talking about him and remembering him.

Dom the Bomb!!

Dom the Bomb!!

R.I.P Dom and thanks for all the laughter!

Responses

  1. Great Blog! I too knew a “Dom” and your Dom has made me smile as well now that you have passed him along. That truly is the way to live forever. Inspire others so they speak your name after you are gone.

    Keep posting!
    the Happy Medic

    • Thanks for that Happy Medic.
      Its great to know that his story has gone “across the pond” now! He is very much missed!

      Medicblog999

  2. Your shennanigans with Dom had me cracking up. It is a beautiful thing to have a partner like that and a tragedy to lose one. By sharing his stories you keep his legacy going. I hope you share some more and it eases the pain.

  3. That made me chuckle 🙂

    Great post, it’s nice when you can think back to times you’ve shared with people you’ve lost and smile.

    Oh and thanks for adding me to your blogroll, I’ve just noticed!

  4. Oh My Goodness…Warning: don’t be drinking anything when reading this. I had to clean my keyboard before commenting. That. Was. Awesome. RIP Dom, he sounds like a great guy and I’m sure he is missed. He left big shoes to fill, methinks.

  5. Awww…what a loss. Sounds like an awesome medic AND human being. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

