Posted by: medicblog999 | December 30, 2008

Hello from me!

Well, this is my first ever blog, so I guess I should talk a little about myself first.

I am a Paramedic in the North East of England serving a large geographical area and providing emergency services in both traditional 2 person crew ambulances and also as a single responder in rapid response cars.

I have been a paramedic for 8 years and class every day as enjoyable as my first. I have read, and continue to read many paramedic/EMT blogs where the over-riding feeling of the blog is one of dissatisfaction with the job and all of the troubles that come with it. I intend this blog to be different. I want to share with you, the reader, the joy of being an intimate part of people’s lives. The amazing feeling I get when I share in someone’s life and experience the entire emotional spectrum that one can feel depending on the circumstances that we find ourselves in.

This job does have its problems (which job doesn’t!), but the unique part of being a paramedic in the UK is that once I am out on shift I am my own boss. I treat my patients the way that I, or one of my family would want to be looked after. I ensure that I perform my role to the highest possible standards, and I try to go home at the end of each shift knowing that I have done the very best for my patients what ever the outcome was. I say try, as we all make mistakes, we all make misjudgments and we all sometimes act in a manner that when we reflect on it wish that we maybe changed a bit.

I am not a perfect paramedic, I am not the best that there is, but I do try hard to get there.

I hope this is going to be the start of an interesting journey for all, myself included. I’m sure this blog will evolve in a certain direction over time but i hope, with your feedback, that I can share what its like to be part of this profession and show that its not all like Casualty (a uk drama show for those overseas) but more like everyday real life, mostly routine and sometimes mundane but always fulfilling!

Responses

  1. Hi,

    I’m a CFR. Although we don’t get the jobs you blokes do, we do get some satisfaction that we’re doing the best we can with limited training & equipment.

  2. We have a very active CFR programme in our service, although not in my area as they are mostly utilised in rural areas. I do know that what you do helps us and they people in your area of cover.
    I just hope you get the recognition you deserve from your local crews!

  3. Hello, have just found and read through your blog. Its nice to see someone enjoying their work!!

    Thanks for sharing. Hope to read more soon

  4. Well sir, you just recently announced your giving up blogging and looking back at your first post, I’d say you acomished everything you set out to do, and so much more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

