Posted by: medicblog999 | February 23, 2011

Signing Off.

I figure that now is the time to make the announcement.

Sometime, very shortly, this blog will disappear from the Fire&EMS Blog Network. This is no reflection what so ever on the Network, on the contrary, the exposure that being part of such an esteemed group of EMS Bloggers and having access to the readership of JEMS has had a large impact on the readership of my musings!

I have been in touch with the chaps in charge of the site and have asked for my domain to come to me so that I can move the archives of 999Medic to a self hosted site, where they can be viewed by whom ever wants to. I feel it would be a shame to have over 600,000 words just disappear!

As for active blogging, I am done.

It has been a fantastic two years. Friendships have been formed, memories have been created, and I truly feel privileged to be part of such a professional group of people as those that write and read EMS Blogs.

I hope that my writing has meant something to you all (although I already know that, thanks to a number of emails and comments), but please know that you have all given me so much too.

The ending of 999Medic is different this time, to the last ‘sabbatical’. This time it is my choice, this time I feel that it is the right thing to do.

I don’t know what has changed in me over the last couple of months. Maybe I am heading for burnout…..Maybe I am already there. I guess that just goes to show that it can happen to anyone.

There has been no big single incident, but I find myself constantly thinking about what else is out there, and I imagine the bliss of being unaware of the despair that some families have to go through. I think about not seeing the things that I have seen, and not having to deal with the ‘splashed sadness’ that we are so often a part of (that term really should have a place in EMS history – Kudos again to Mr Chris Kaiser).

Where my career will take me, I have no clue at the moment. I am looking at options, and am enthused and thrilled with the academic learning that I am part of at the moment and have already looked into a PhD in three years time.

What I do know, for certain, is that I wont be a bitter front line paramedic who remains in a job that is slowly killing him as he struggles to keep up with the ever increasing physical demands put on him.

I still have so much to give. I still love healthcare and looking after people.

I always said that this blog would be a positive place to come, but it is hard to maintain that when I myself do not feel that positive about things. This is no reflection on my service at all, more the state of the public’s perception and expectation of EMS services. It has becoming draining, and it has sucked much of the enthusiasm out of me.

I really don’t think I will be back as a blogger, but I will still be on Twitter (@UKMedic999) and on Facebook. I will of course, still be reading all of my favourite blogs and commenting when I have something to add to the discussion.

I will also always be available via email – mglencorse@yahoo.co.uk.

So that is it….

Time for Medic999 to head on home.

See you around!

Responses

  1. Sad :(
    But, it is your choice and if this is what is best for you, then it is what is best! And yes, I’m glad you’re keeping an archive of the posts – it really would be a shame for them to vanish.

  2. So here endeth a legend, burned out maybe, but certainly not defeated. An inspiration to me and to many others, bloggers and non-bloggers alike, with your words of wisdom, encouragement, positivity and belief. All I can hope is that you find enough leftover inspiration within you to take you to bigger and better things.
    Thank you for taking us all along for the journey.
    Sad to see the blog go, two big UK bloggers in as many weeks.
    Just make sure you don’t disappear all together…
    IM

  3. While this indeed is not joyous news, at least this time it is a choice you are consciously making for yourself rather than being pressured into it. Hopefully our paths can cross many times in the future.

    Until then, good journey.

  4. take care of your self first , your love one , sandra ( witch have stop smoking ) give a ocasional email i will always be glad to ear from you tanks for the good time

  5. Well Mark it has been a pleasure reading your posts and I wish you well for your future endeavours.

    Matt.

  6. I’ll miss your blog. Enjoy your next steps in your career – if you do research you may not be rich in terms of money but you WILL be mega-rich in experiences as long as you remain aware of doors that open. I speak from experience there! And again, thank you for what you introduced Francesca to. I hope we will meet again sometime so I know what you end up doing -I’m nosey like that!

  7. You will be missed; self-care is the best we can do for ourselves. Warms me to know that you are self-aware enough to call it. May you and yours enjoy the memories and those yet to come. Thanks for leaving the archive; I will reread it again and again. With gratitude,

    Namaste, Mark.

  8. You have been a joy to read. Best of luck in all of your endeavors…

  9. Eloquent as always, I’ll miss reading your unique take on life and the job, but in the end I’m happy you were the one to end it on your terms. Best of luck for the future.

    Joffre
    Paramedic

  10. Thank you very much Mark.

    I’m sure that many of your readers will join me in saying a massive thank you for your “musings” as you call them. They have entertained, informed and given food for thought to both my colleagues and myself. They have opened discussions on station and in the cab.

    All the best to you and good luck in whatever you decide to do next.

    Thanks

    Glenn

  11. I don’t recall how I stumbled across your blog, but yours was one of the first couple of EMS-related blogs that I follow. It’s been a real pleasure reading your postings over the last couple of years, and you will be missed. Thanks for leaving the archive up–there are many excellent posts there.

    I wish you all the best in your future endeavours, and I truly hope that should I ever find myself in a position that requires an EMS response, that I will be attended by a person with your work ethic and professionalism.

  12. I’m sad to see you go Mark, but I understand you need to do what is best for you, your family, and your sanity. I’ve come to a point in my blogging career as well where I’m not quite sure to do, hopefully I figure it out soon.

    Respectfully,

    Brad Buckler
    EMT-Basic/Entry Level Firefighter
    @EMTGoose

  13. Take Care of Yourself and I wish you all the best.
    ~Blessings

  14. You’re a great assert to EMS, your voice will be missed. Just know as you move ahead in your career, your blog and twittership(twitter friendship?) has helped inspire chnage across the globe, all the way my little rural service in middle-America. Godspeed Mark.

  15. I’m going to miss you, Mark.

  16. […] Mark Glencorse is hanging up the keyboard. […]

  17. Thanks for the ride Mark. It has been a pleasure reading your thoughts over the past two years. Good luck with your continuing education!

  18. Mark, thank you for everything you have shared with us and with the positive enthusiasm with which you have delivered it.
    I can honestly say that by reading your blog my patient care has improved and therefore my patients and their families have benefited – I’m in no doubt about this.
    It’s very sad to see you go but as Lynda said, we have got to take care of ourselves, because I truly believe no one else but us really have an idea of what we encounter and are required to do in this profession every day. The job itself is tough, and even tougher for those of us that REALLY care (you know what I mean).
    As they say round my way – “All the best mate!”.

  19. I’m sorry to see you go. Your blog was always interesting reading. Where ever your journey takes you, I’m sure you’ll always be a great advocate for patients and practitioners.

    God Speed.

  20. You will be soooooooooo missed. Your blog has been such an inspiration to me so many times. I’ve cried and laughed and then some. It’s been an awesome time here with you… Reconizing that it’s time to end this chapter , takes quite a man as well. I have no doubt you will only move on to bigger and better things.
    Thank you for allowing us to tag along.
    Good Luck in all you do !!!!!!!!
    *Hugs*

  21. Best of luck, Mark!

  22. Mark,
    It is true that all good things must come to an end- and I guess your blog is one of them. Thank you for some true insight to what you do, told by a real person with real experiance. You have made me laugh, cry and fume (at the public) with the things you have written. But if your heart isn’t in it , then it has run it’s course. Huge respect to you for your day job and your blog.
    Please keep tweeting- your tweets are ones I read, not just scroll past!
    With real best wishes for whatever you do, I will miss your blog though.
    Minty

  23. Sad to see you go.

    I am happy it is on your own terms this time.

    Don’t be a stranger and enjoy some added time with the wife and kids.

    I know of many people who are rethinking their careers….for one reason or another. I don’t blame them.

    Just remember that when you look back years from now…you made change, you asked questions, you desired better service, and you were a mentor in your line of work. That will never change.

    Stay Safe

  24. Mark:
    You are a class act.
    You make a difference.
    I wish you nothing but the best.
    Art

  25. Mark, I’m sorry to see you go. I’ve learned a lot from your blog and feel that it has really improved my standard of patient care. Good luck in the halls of academia – I look forward to reading papers in EMJ by Glencorse et al. I’ll no doubt see you around on the streets from time to time. All the best.

  26. Best wishes to you as you go forward… thanks for all the great posts.

  27. Mark.
    Inspiring, thoughtful, controversial, always entertaining.
    Nice one and have fun.
    Loch Ness RNLI Lifeboat team

  28. […] Mark Glencourse, author of the fine Medic999.com blog, is signing off from blogging. Best wishes to Mark and his family. I am grateful for Mark’s contributions to […]

  29. Mark,
    Thank you for your blog. It was the first EMS blog that I ever came across and have been a loyal reader since. Your posts have been touching and real in ways that others have not. Thank you for that. I wish you well in future.
    Until then,
    Heddwch;-)

  30. will definitely miss it!

    red base out

  31. […] RevMedic offered some mid-winter EMS Haiku. UK blogging mentor and friend, Mark Glencorse, hung up his blogging hat and headed off to bigger horizons. Then, before we could even offer Mark a fond farewell,  Tim […]

  32. good luck. sorry to see you go.

  33. Mark

    I’m another one of the throng who’ll miss you, particularly as I’ve only just restarted reading blogs again over the last day or two (busy – don’t ask!).

    You are obviously well-respected on these pages, and at work as well, I’ve no doubt – from the ones who really matter. You’ve inspired many people by your blog, even a simple volunteer like me.

    Keep well mate, and enjoy your time now you’re away from it – the front line at least.

    MW


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

