Posted by: medicblog999 | February 2, 2011

A sigh of relief

Sometimes in this job we can be harder on ourselves than anyone else could be.
We question ourselves…

Did I do everything I could?
Should I have done this?
Maybe I should have done that?
Have I caused ….?
Was it my fault…..?

If you were quick enough, some of you would have seen a post pop up last week. I wrote it after getting home after a night shift and a particularly tough job. I let everything out in that post and it helped me for a while.

Mrs999 woke up, read the post, and said that it ‘was too much’ . In my book that’s enough for me to take it down, so down it came.

It’s been nearly a week now and I’ve just checked up on my patient. She is still struggling, still not out of the woods, but is alive.

As far as the questions go….

Yes, I did manage her airway well enough to prevent aspiration pneumonia (which I honestly thought was very likely). Her chest x-ray is clear.

I didn’t fail her.

That is a much needed sigh of relief for me.

Responses

  1. great mate , we do have to question from time to time it help us be more efficient i think and it help us provide better care

  2. Thanks for the update. I thought perhaps I’d imagined that post, and it sounded so bleak.
    Keeping her (and you) in prayer.

    • Thanks Sparrow.

  3. I remember that post, glad to hear you got the answer you needed my friend *hugs*

    • Thanks Shelly

  4. my blog reader caught that post, and I thought I imagined it when I refreshed later and it was gone. Very powerful post, I think it is one of few where at the end I was thinking “wow. Good to see you were able to see you performed well.

    • Thanks.
      I really do wish that I could have kept the post up.

  5. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Shelly Wilcoxson, Mark Glencorse, ALCO Medics & EMT’s, Shari Simpson, Chronicles of EMS and others. Chronicles of EMS said: A sigh of relief http://bit.ly/fib3Sc Via @Medic999 #CoEMS [...]

  6. I think that you are a hero – this woman could have died without your help. I wish I could do a job which changed so many lives. Stick with it!

    • Thanks Laura!
      I appreciate the thoughts.

  7. This is a good common sense Blog. Very helpful to one who is
    just finding the resources about this part. It will certainly help educate me.http://www.zolpideminformation.com

  8. You can buy any style with [url=http://www.hellojersey.us/][b]Wholesale NFL Jerseys[/b][/url]. You will happy with [url=http://www.hellojersey.us/][b]Cheap NFL Jerseys[/b][/url]. NFL Jerseys sell hot this year. [url=http://www.hellojersey.us/nfl-jerseys-c-1.html][b]NFL Jerseys[/b][/url] contest are quite satisfactory. [url=http://www.hellojersey.us/mlb-jerseys-c-4.html][b]MLB Jerseys[/b][/url] are sold with free shipping and many clients choose [url=http://www.hellojersey.us/nhl-jerseys-c-5.html][b]NHL Jerseys[/b][/url]. What’s more, [url=http://www.hellojersey.us/nba-jerseys-c-2.html][b]NBA Jerseys[/b][/url] are popular with youths. All of these [url=http://www.hellojersey.us/][b]Cheap Jerseys[/b][/url] are ok for you.

  9. Interesting and important information. It is really
    beneficial for us. Thanks

  10. Hi, interesting post. I have been wondering about this topic, so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be subscribing to your site. Keep up the good posts

    Vasectomy

  11. I
    can see that you’re an expert in this region. I am starting an internet site
    soon, and your information will be very helpful for me.. Thank you for all of
    your help and wishing you all the success inside your business.

    Acne Chicago
     

  12. I just couldn’t leave your website before telling you
    that we really enjoyed the quality information you offer to your visitors… Will
    be back often to check up on new posts.

    http://www.charmingskin.com

  13. good one..

  14. keep the good work going…

  15. Hi, interesting
    post. I have been wondering about this topic, so thanks for posting. I’ll
    definitely be subscribing to your site. Keep up the good posts
     

    Nassau County business coach

  16. Hi, interesting
    post. I have been wondering about this topic, so thanks for posting. I’ll
    definitely be subscribing to your site. Keep up the good posts
     

    Nassau County business coach

  17. i love this place,i love this layout,and i have a website too,i hope you will visit and guide,because we supply cheap NFL jerseys with high quality,we also supply custom jerseys,with you name,which number you like,you choose,we do it for you,if you like it,don’t forget contact us:

    http://www.custompersonalityjerseys.com

  18. Mrs999 woke up, read the post, and said that it ‘was too much’ . In my
    book that’s enough for me to take it down, so down it came.
    Chicago Bears Jersey
    Brian Urlacher Jersey
    Chester Taylor Jersey

  19. It’s been nearly a week now and I’ve just checked up on my patient.
    She is still struggling, still not out of the woods, but is alive.

    As far as the questions go….
    Brian Urlacher Jersey

  20. Thanks for not only taking the time to write this, but to even improve the information by making it
    easy to read and understand.

    Eli
    Manning Jersey


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

