Posted by: medicblog999 | December 31, 2010

Ending an amazing year.

2010 has been a year of excitement, opportunity, happiness and realisation for me.

It started in a blur of Chronicles of EMS.

Who would have known that a couple of little blogs (mine and The Happy Medics) and the vision of a certain film maker,Ted Setla, would have such an impact on my life, both personally and professionally?

Four trips to the United States later and I was having to come to terms with the possibility of leaving all that we had worked so hard to achieve. Chronicles and Mother Nature (Icelandic Volcano) had taken their toll on Mrs999 and the rest of my family and it was time for me to decide what my real priorities were.

Jump forward 7 months, and I am looking back with a huge fondness over the experience that I have had, and the friends I have made. I have been truly privileged to have been part of this and although I am in the background now, I look forward to the time when the Ted, Justin and Mark show teams up again to bring something ‘Awesome’ to the table.

As I have wrote in the past, my exposure to worldwide EMS systems has driven me to want to be a real agent for change in the UK ambulance services (why bother aiming low, eh?), which brings me to my current studies for a Masters Degree in Clinical Research and the frankly ridiculous amount of work I am trying to fit in around my full time job.

It will be worth it though, my goals stretch far beyond 2011. However long it will take, I will somewhere along the line see some of my ideas and thoughts on how to better EMS, come to fruition and I will know that I have made some small (or maybe even large) contribution to the profession that I love so dearly.

I have been one of the very fortunate ones who managed to secure some time off over the Christmas period, and I don’t think I have ever enjoyed family time more than I have this year. It made it all the more hard to go back to work on Tuesday, but to be honest, I didn’t even have time to think after I was thoroughly ‘beasted’ by the sheer amount of calls coming in. As I mentioned on Twitter last night :

33 hours
38 patient contacts
9 poorly exacerbation COPD
2 STEMIs
2 VT
2 Cardiac Arrest
5 acute CVAs

I came home absolutely shattered, but pleased that we had helped so many ‘genuine patients’ and their families.

As always, there are a couple of jobs that will stay with me for a little while and families who I will have in my thoughts as I say ‘Happy New Year’ as the clock turns past midnight.

We will always be a witness to sadness and grief in our line of work, and I have been ‘splashed’ with more than enough from 2010 (credit again to Chris Kaiser from ‘life under the lights‘ for the term ‘splashed sadness’), but I am immensely thankful that my family remains intact and relatively healthy as we move into 2011.

In 10 minutes I will be heading out to work another shift as the Police Medic for Durham Constabulary in Darlington tonight. I know it is going to be a busy one and I know that as it gets closer to New Year I will wish more and more that I was at home with the family, but for as long as I can remember, both me and Mrs999 have been out working on this night.

Yes, it will be full of drunk patients, but hopefully they will all be happy drunks!

As for you lot……..

I wish you all health and happiness in 2011.

As I have most definitely found out since the start of Chronicles of EMS, we are all in this thing together!!!

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rhiannon Mae Bluemel. Rhiannon Mae Bluemel said: RT @UKMedic999: At Last, finally got round to another blog post! : http://bit.ly/glW4Yc […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

