Posted by: medicblog999 | October 28, 2010

Proof that hearing is the last to go?

Myself and Mrs999 have been sitting around the breakfast table recounting war stories from our career in the Ambulance service with our friends following on from the London Tweetup last night, which was a fantastic night by the way.

I started telling a story from a good few years ago that I cant believe I havent shared before on the blog. Its a nice and short one, but it was certainly one of those ‘freaky moments’ that happen every now and then.

I was called to the address of an elderly man who was complaining of chest pain. On this day I was working on the ambulance so got the chance to stay with him throughout his time in the ambulance.

His assessment was fairly unremarkable, just another standard, routine cardiac chest pain job. He did have a history of a previous MI and a VF Arrest, but on this occasion his observations were all within normal limits and his 12 lead ECG showed no evidence of ACS at this time. He still got his aspirin, buccal GTN, Morphine and rapid transport to the A&E department though.

What sticks in my mind and what surprised me at the time was what he said when I was looking after him on the way up to the hospital.

As He was lying on the stretcher, he looked over to me and said

“Will you keep talking to me as we drive up to the hospital please?”

“Of course, I will”

“But just keep talking to me though, ok? Just normal talk…..Please?”

When I asked him if there was anything wrong…..

“Its just that the last time that I was in an ambulance, I can remember everything going black and hearing the man sitting where you are sitting shouting through to the driver……’Pull Over!, hes arrested’ “

Responses

  1. mark ya right after 28 yrs in the job , iv found this to be true, every time i do a arrest i call out there name iv had 3 patients over the yrs who can recall me calling they name

  2. I’ve always wondered how much they’re still “there” after we think they aren’t anymore. Makes me wonder about people that are in comas too.

  3. [...] Three told a dispatch story (We all have one). Mark Glencourse reminded us that hearing really is the last thing to go. Rogue Medic talked about podcasting and the 2010 AHA guidelines. EpiJunky had us all passionate [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

