Posted by: medicblog999 | September 17, 2009

Medic 999 welcomes Change of Shift

Cos

Today I have the priviledge of hosting my first edition of Change of Shift, the blog carnival set up and run by Kim from Emergiblog, and designed to showcase nursing related blogs throughout the blogosphere.

overload

Its been a busy couple of weeks with hosting our very own EMS/ER carnival ‘The Handover’, then Grand Rounds, so I thought why not round it off with Change of Shift!!

So, whats it doing here, I hear you all ask? Whats nursing got to do with Medic999 and Paramedicine and emergency care?

First, I will deal with my bit. I qualified as a registered nurse in 1995 and practiced for 5 years before turning my hand to pre-hospital care. I have seen both sides of the coin, in hospital and out of hospital healthcare and I truly feel that my nursing background has given me a valuable insight and general grounding that not all entrants to paramedicine have had the opportunity to gain.

I also strongly feel that we are interlinked in medicine, especially in the emergency departments, but also on the wards and units of a busy hospital. We may meet in the resus room, or on a ward when we bring a patient to you but the professional relationship that develops can be either very rewarding and effective or sometimes even disruptive and combative. In this I have also seen both sides, but personally I enjoy very much the interactions I have with the nurses in the Accident and Emergency units I supply patients to. So whilst you are here, have a look at this little ol blog and those of my colleagues in my blog roll to the right there and see what its like on ‘the other side’  too.

Hopefully, that explains why I wanted to host Change of Shift, and so, without any further delay, here we go……

teamI suggested a theme for this edition, along with a section for open posts on any nursing related subject. The theme was ‘Nursing and EMS’, stories about when we meet. There was only a couple of submissions for this part, and I am going to start there:

Michael, from one of my favourite EMS blogs, Rescuing Providence, shares with us a snapshot into his thoughts on the almost mystical Seventh Floor of a local care facility and his obvious reverence for the nurses who care for the patients in that unit

  • “The most amazing people make their living caring for them. I have no idea how they do it day after day. They become emotionally attached to every one of their patients, treating them as their own”

Another of my EMS colleagues shared a post from her blog, Just me, Just my Blog, which describes one of our worst nightmares, attending an emergency involving family members. But she then goes on to explain the calming and caring effect that one good nurse can bring to a terrible situation. Read about it, in her post ‘I love her…..but I dont know her name’

  • “The nurse we dealt with was absolutely amazing. She was kind, patient, caring, and a genuinely nice person”

information_overload

Now onto the general section. A wide and varied response came in here, and today I will start with :

An insight into healthcare reform which comes from the blog The Nurse Practitioners Place. In this post, a separate article is discussed which compares the care offered and cost associated with seeing a Nurse Practitioner as an alternative to ‘an expert’. This raises the hackles a little of our author. Click here to read the post Drivel in its finest towards NPs masked as Health Care Reform

  • “What makes the author think that we are not able to perform the same tasks and NOT be highly trained?”

See Jane Nurse gives us all a quick insight into some frustrations in her role as a Telemetry Nurse (I didnt even know there was such a speciality, but after reading this post, a speciality is most definitely what it is), in the post As the tele pack turns.

  • “Resources. Working in a community hospital resources are a precious commodity to me, a telemetry nurse. And that is why I felt guilty after my last shift”

Lumo, an A&E Nurse (thats ER for those in the states) who writes My life in A&E, shares a poignant night she had whilst caring for a dying woman and her husband, This goes right back to what I believe is at the heart of what ‘nursing’ used to be. Its a touching portrayal of the last few hours in a relationship that lasted a lifetime. The post is called ‘Not your typical night shift’ and can be read by clicking here

  • “All the while I was thinking ‘God I hope no-one asks how I am’. I made a quick exit once the final drug checks were done and I cried all the way home”

Its time to welcome a newbie to Change of Shift, in the form of ‘little d’, a volunteer EMT, who has taken the plunge and gone to nursing school. In her blog, Crash Course in Nursing, she has penned the post ‘The Hard Part’ which gives a fairly unique insight into nursing from an EMTs perspective.

  • “The difference is that there are innumerable other things to do, even for a rock-stable patient”

Next we move over to The Man Nurse Diaries. In this post, Code Blue during clinical, we hear about a patient who takes a turn for the worse, and the brave decision that followed from our intrepid final year student nurse, to take his place in the response team to treat ‘his’ patient, and the learning experience that came about through being assertive when needed.

  • “At first I hang back, but then I thought This is my patient and I push my way up to the front. That was good, because I could answer some questions nobody knew”

Now for a timely post from Sherry, a Nurse with Ideas. Sherry gives her opinion on the whole ‘Death Panel’ debate, and the issues surrounding DNR orders, in her post ‘DNR does not mean do not care’

  • “I am the type of nurse who wants you to have your dignity and have your say. Sometimes all you can do is honor this request for someone. I cannot impose my will.”

A blog article by Sean Dent on the website Scrubsmag, really hit the nail on the head for me. I see the same thing struggled with by some of my paramedic colleagues as he talks about in his post Tsk…Tsk….Tsk….Transference.

  • “I don’t know about you, but when a patient passes, and I am present. The family is present. Regardless of the way they pass. I feel it. I feel a sense of loss. And I’m empathetic with all the family.”

Sean then followed this post up with a link to another post on his own blog, My Strong Medicine, which many nurse and pre-hospital care provider could do with reading. The post is called Put your own mask on first, and provides an interesting analogy on looking after yourself

  • “We always go to great lengths to give the very best care and strive to be the very best patient advocate, but somehow we neglect ourselves”

Health Fitness How To, addresses the still often misunderstood condition of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, in the post Five Things you should ever say to someone with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. As you read through the list, I bet you cringe as you realise either you or one of your colleagues has said, or thought those exact same things.

  • “As a patient myself, I know that what I would like more than anything, besides a cure, is to be understood”

A relative newcomer to Change of Shift is the blog Nursing Student Chronicles. In this post, You know you’ve been in nursing school to long when…, we are given an insight into a chance moment gave an amusing insight into the pressures of undergoing nurse training in the 21st Century.

  • “No, no he doesn’t have any respirations. I’ll set my alarm for the morning.”

031505_Divinity_Library_57Finally, I had a collection of submissions all around a specific theme, that of collections of information, so I thought I would bundle them together for your perusal:

Nursing Assistant Guides. With the current healthcare debate raging in the U.S, this blog helps cut through all the information out there are shares with us their Top 50 Healthcare Policy Blogs.

  • “To help you sort out the issues and to see how they intertwine, we’ve created a list of 50 top healthcare policy blogs for your convenience”

In another helpful collection, LVN to RN, embraces ‘new media’ and gives its readers a list of 50 Travel nurses to follow and learn from on Twitter, in this informative post

  • “Travel nursing is hard enough to get started in or continue. But thanks to the internet, you don’t have to do it alone”

The blog of Nurse Practitioner Schools, also cuts some of the work out for those wanting to know more about oncology (A subject close to my heart, as that is where I started my nursing career), in its post Top 50 Oncology Blogs.

  • “Roughly one in four Americans will develop cancer, according to studies. This means in some form or another, we will all be affected by it”

The next submission is a huge list of 100 Blog Posts You Should Read before Going to Med School. This can be found at the blog of Nursing Schools.net, and gives a great insight into some things to think about before stepping into the big bad world of medical/nursing education.

  • “Read through these posts to learn how to ensure your success in applying to medical schools, what schools are looking for and what to do to grease the wheels of the process.”

Now, I am a man and I am a geek, therefore I have an iPhone, so this post from  the blog of RN to BSN Online Degrees got me flicking through it, only to notice that I already have a number of these apps on my iphone! If like me you cant live without your iPhone, then have a look at 50 Essential iPhone apps for Travel nurses and see if there is anything you fancy amongst them all

  • “Help make your traveling and nursing more efficient, safe, and hassle free by taking a look at these 50 essential iPhone apps for travel nurses. They will help you fly, nurse, eat, and even sleep better”

Out of the same stable comes PhD in nursing Online which in its blog looks at the Top 100 Blogs to help you become a better nurse. This list is bursting with great blogs to read, so could be a great place to pop in and see if you have subscribed to them all already.

  • “In the olden days, nurses had to rely on textbooks, colleagues, and experiences to better themselves. Now with the new uprising in health 2.0, it is easier than ever to improve yourself without ever leaving your home”

Neurology…..arrrrggghhhhhhh!! The memories of trying to get your head around that mess!! 50 fascinating lectures about your brain, may not seem like a whole bundle of fun, but its actually worth a quick look see. Theres some links to some good lessons in this blog post which many new, old or just getting clinicians could find useful. The post is listed on the site Associate Degree

  • “Whether you are studying psychology, neurobiology, or just have a passion for learning about the brain, there are plenty of interesting lectures out there that will help you learn all about the brain”

And finally, an interesting little selection at Nurseblogger, gives us a quick  lesson into the 25 most famous nurses in history. I wonder if I should feel ashamed that I havent heard of the vast majority of them??

  • “Throughout history, nurses have been on the front lines of military conflicts, and have provided their caring expertise in hospitals and clinics around the world. If you decide to go into nursing, you will be in good company”

And thats all folks!!

Thanks for stopping by and reading. As I said at the beginning, feel free to click through my blog and some of my favourites in my blog roll, you may read something that you like!

PorkyPig


Responses

  1. Very nice – thank you so much for hosting (and had forgotten you were a nurse, too! I blame age-related synapse degeneration)! : D

  2. :) this is great reading! thank you!

  3. Nice job. Thanks.

    Is that your ambulance in the header? I have never seen such a bold one before.

  4. Thanks for the inclusion in the COS! Nice edition.

  5. Wow! Top notch edition. I really loved the quoted text for each submission. Sorry so late to thank you! Great job!

  6. Great job on COS! I’m catching up on my blog reading. This was the way to catch up with my faves and find new blogs to follow. Cheers! mb

  7. [...] I’ve also been remiss in my duties! The last Change of Shift was hosted by Mark at Medic 999, Ramona at Suture for a Living did the honors last week at Grand [...]

  8. Hi Jeff,

    Yup, thats one of our new rapid response cars.

  9. Amen! This makes catching up on all the fave blogs a lot easier, haha Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

